We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience, Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Downtown Inn & Suites
Ranked #45 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Reviewed June 11, 2012

While the Downtown Inn is an old style motel with rooms that you enter from the outside, we found our room to be very clean and met all of our needs. The continental breakfast was not spectacular, but was OK if you don't want an elaborate spread. The pool area was nice and clean, but did not have many chairs. Only 8 chairs around tables and 4 lounge chairs. Parking was easy and secure behind a fence. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our first room had a steady drip from the ceiling onto the bed, but they moved us promptly and gave us a discount off of that nights charge. The biggest pluses for the hotel are the price and the location. We stayed 6 nights for less than 2 nights at most other downtown hotels. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go downtown and we were close to hiking and inner tubing on the French Broad River. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel shows it's age, but has friendly staff and clean rooms. Being right downtown, coupled with free parking and very affordable rates makes a very convenient visit to Asheville's restaurants and beer culture. The Thirsty Monk and Green Man are in the same block, Asheville Brewing Co. and French Broad are a couple blocks away.
As Julia R already posted, try to get a room facing the mountains (the pool side). The rooms facing the street are incredibly noisy. Our first night was on the street side and was fitful, even on the third floor. Fortunately they were able to change our room to the "quiet" side for the remaining two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maztech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to stay in downtown to check out the breweries without having to wiry about driving. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we cautiously chose the Downtown Inn.  Happy to say we were not disappointed!

Front desk was helpful with information on area and recommendations for diner. Room was nice and clean. Air conditioning on when we arrived. Breakfast was good the next morning. 

All in all, convenient location and a great stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2007st1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you don't the frayed edges& bad decor in the lobby and a ok breakfast, but want very clean beds good housekeeping & service, attentive check in + the perfect Down town location for bars& restaurants within 2- 3 mins walk. I recommend this hotel as it is very reasonably price for a down town hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at rear of hotel on the upper floors for a view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rab2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel. The room was basic, yet clean. Bed is a bit soft, and comforter and pillows are rather old. Basic continental breakfast (pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, bagels, etc) is free. We found that it is still a great value, as the hotel is within walking distance to all points of interest that we wanted to visit. Make sure to ask for a “mountain view” room – it is much quieter than street-facing rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain-view room, it is quieter than street-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Ok it isn't top of the line. It is a clean place to sleep that has an awesome location for a great price. It is right next to all the shopping and great places to eat: maybe a 10 minute walk to bouchon, 10 minute drive to Biltmore, and right across the street from jack of the woods. Not to mention a 3 to 5 minute walk to great places like Early Girl Eatery, World of Coffee, and Woolworth. The Grove arcade is literally two streets over. The bed is kind of springy and if you are street side there are sometimes sirens, loud cars, and loud people. The staff is friendly and the maids clean very well (still wouldn't trust the comforter though). My fiance and I are young and just cared about the location and a clean place to stay. So if you are a fellow foodie who isn't too picky about luxury this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Asheville Downtown
2.4 mi away
Best Western Asheville Tunnel Road
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtown Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Inn & Suites

Address: 120 Patton Ave, Asheville, NC 28801-3241 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Downtown Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Inn And Suites
Downtown Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing