We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai we've found in Asheville”

Suwana's Thai Orchid
Ranked #141 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tis restaurant is the best in Asheville.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Thai we've found in Asheville”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is quaint, not to pricy for dinner, and the food is very good. Standard Thai fair with excellent service. Lunch specials are a great deal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McKenzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    78
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“I would eat here again”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Good flavor,good friendly people. I had the pad thai. Also enjoyed the mango and sticky rice. Good location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“serendipitous choice”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

after visiting Biltmore Estate we went to downtown Asheville looking for a place for dinner. After walking up and down several streets, noting restaurants choices, our group of 4 decided on the Thai Orchid and had a very lovely dinner. Two shared an appetizer of some dumpling thing which they enjoyed. This was followed by a complimentary salad of mainly iceberg lettuce with a watery peanut dressing (nothing special). Then entrees arrived. All different;all delicious ( 2 noodles dishes, one duck curry dish, one eggplant with shrimp). Server was very helpful about how hot we wanted our dishes prepared and then 4 additional choices of pepper were brought to table if you want to add more heat. We passed on dessert but received a fortune cookie which was surprisingly crispy and actually good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Marvelous Tai Restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After dinner, I walked out with a big smile on my face. Besides having a terrific dinner, we met Suwana, the owner, who was so welcoming. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Everything we ordered was delicious. There is a mango dessert but I didn't want it with sticky rice and coconut sauce. I just wanted the mango. It was the sweetest mango I have ever eaten!
I highly recommend this restaurant! You will love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionate-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thai Orchid Asheville”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent food, Packed restaurant. Authentic thai not fusion. Service was a bit slow though. Fair prices. Hot is very spicey not wimpy like other places. Love the Pad Thai shrimp.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwana's Thai Orchid also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Suwana's Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing