We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Tai Restaurant”

Suwana's Thai Orchid
Ranked #137 of 792 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tis restaurant is the best in Asheville.
Roslyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Marvelous Tai Restaurant”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

After dinner, I walked out with a big smile on my face. Besides having a terrific dinner, we met Suwana, the owner, who was so welcoming. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. Everything we ordered was delicious. There is a mango dessert but I didn't want it with sticky rice and coconut sauce. I just wanted the mango. It was the sweetest mango I have ever eaten!
I highly recommend this restaurant! You will love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank passionate-gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    78
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thai Orchid Asheville”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent food, Packed restaurant. Authentic thai not fusion. Service was a bit slow though. Fair prices. Hot is very spicey not wimpy like other places. Love the Pad Thai shrimp.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the thai fried rice”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

When Suwana's moved downtown from East Asheville, it was hard not to think, "oh great, another Asian restaurant downtown," but my husband and I have come to love this place. We usually go there for lunch as my husband's office used to be on the same block, and the friendly owners and staff always recognize us. My husband would get takeout from there so often that they started giving him the "special" spicy sauce that regulars get, and they are just generally nice folks. I haven't had bad food there, but the one dish that stands out above all others is the thai fried rice. That's one of those dishes I use as a standard for asian places, and I haven't found a better one yet. It that isn't greasy, the veggies are fresh and plentiful and the flavors are fantastic. I usually get it with chicken. A great deal for lunch, and a romatic atmosphere for dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Medium heat is our favorite”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We are locals and eat at Suwana's Thai Orchid mostly for lunch. Tonight's dinner was as delicious as we have come to expect. I got my "usual" drunken noodles: rice noodles with vegetables in a spicy whisky broth. My husband had his "usual" sweet and sour chicken. As a change, we had the steamed dumplings instead of the spring rolls. Tender, delicious with a dipping sauce that worked well. Service was pleasant and fast.
We were there early (5:30pm), and by the time we left, the restaurant was full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikemarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pad Thai”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Really tasty pad Thai, good Thai iced tea, great location in downtown Asheville. Went for lunch had reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cessnatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwana's Thai Orchid also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Suwana's Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing