We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Frank's Roman Pizza

Frank's Roman Pizza
Ranked #283 of 738 Restaurants in Asheville
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Came in for a calzone. Canned sauce, flavorless, dry inside. Just awful. Won't do that ever be going there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridagirl930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frank's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Pizza was very good. Can't put my finger on it but something was different about the pizza and it was excellent. Had cheese bread that was really good too. It's an older place but we would still go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NutnJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
“Too much, obviously cheap, cheese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I made the mistake of coming in on an slow Sunday afternoon. (Hoping that is the case) Because staff was short, not helpful and rude. Our large, half cheese half feta and spinage pizza was incredibly under cooked which did not pair well with the goobs of cheese, masking any flavor that might have been. Crust was tasteless and bland. Disappointing to say the least. Frank please learn to make pizza correctly, ratio of cheese to sauce to dough is crucial. Don't get me started on bland "garlic" bread or the pizza sauce being served as "marinara". We won't be back till things improve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BP Management T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BLAH PIZZA. DISAPPOINTING.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

OK . I was hungry on a Saturday at 6pm after a day of errands. I was going to go to Mellow Mushroom downtown on the recommendation of a saleswoman who has lived here 35 years. Instead I made a fast turn into Frank's on Tunnel Road and I regret it big time.

This place is dumpy and over-hyped. I ordered a small Greek salad which was made with iceberg lettuce, canned, sliced black olives, feta and one small pepperoncini. There was nothing Greek about it at all. Dreadfully bland. As a follow up I had two slices of cheese pizza with mushrooms and pepperoni. The mushrooms were canned, the pepperoni super slim, the dough doughy and the sauce nondescript.

As an aside the Gaelic Ale was nice and cold.

I love good quality food. Frank's doesn't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLEARWATERBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great NY Style Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Frank's Pizza is simply the best in Asheville even with strong competitors such as Marco's and Asheville Pizza. First and foremost the crust is excellent. Crisp, crunchy and chewy with great flavor. No limp pizza here. The tomato sauce is also excellent and the cheese and toppings are generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Roman Pizza also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frank's Roman Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing