We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much, obviously cheap, cheese”

Frank's Roman Pizza
Ranked #373 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
“Too much, obviously cheap, cheese”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I made the mistake of coming in on an slow Sunday afternoon. (Hoping that is the case) Because staff was short, not helpful and rude. Our large, half cheese half feta and spinage pizza was incredibly under cooked which did not pair well with the goobs of cheese, masking any flavor that might have been. Crust was tasteless and bland. Disappointing to say the least. Frank please learn to make pizza correctly, ratio of cheese to sauce to dough is crucial. Don't get me started on bland "garlic" bread or the pizza sauce being served as "marinara". We won't be back till things improve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BP Management T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BLAH PIZZA. DISAPPOINTING.”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

OK . I was hungry on a Saturday at 6pm after a day of errands. I was going to go to Mellow Mushroom downtown on the recommendation of a saleswoman who has lived here 35 years. Instead I made a fast turn into Frank's on Tunnel Road and I regret it big time.

This place is dumpy and over-hyped. I ordered a small Greek salad which was made with iceberg lettuce, canned, sliced black olives, feta and one small pepperoncini. There was nothing Greek about it at all. Dreadfully bland. As a follow up I had two slices of cheese pizza with mushrooms and pepperoni. The mushrooms were canned, the pepperoni super slim, the dough doughy and the sauce nondescript.

As an aside the Gaelic Ale was nice and cold.

I love good quality food. Frank's doesn't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLEARWATERBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
274 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great NY Style Pizza”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Frank's Pizza is simply the best in Asheville even with strong competitors such as Marco's and Asheville Pizza. First and foremost the crust is excellent. Crisp, crunchy and chewy with great flavor. No limp pizza here. The tomato sauce is also excellent and the cheese and toppings are generous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stromboli This”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The stromoli is big enough for three!!! The pizza was also excellent. Plan on a doggy bag. They could improve their wine offerings.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyem53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did Not Care for It”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I thought the pizza was pretty poor. It's so tasteless they have to put garlic powder on each table. The dining area was frankly nasty. Doughy, tasteless crust, slightly underbaked in my case. If it had much of a sauce, I could not taste it. Generic, plastic cheese. Other reviews were good; maybe I was just there on a bad day. Pepsi, no Coke.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carrickp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank's Roman Pizza also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Frank's Roman Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing