We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Biltmore Restaurant”
Review of Stable Cafe

Stable Cafe
Ranked #42 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Biltmore Restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We ate lunch here between tours at The Biltmore Estate and found the food to be quite a bit better than expected. The tomato soup was delicious and our turkey sandwiches had fresh ingredients on wonderful bread. I would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    365
    113
    30
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sun City West, Arizona
Level Contributor
221 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a fascinating setting ...”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely lunch today at the Stable Cafe. It's Mother's Day, so we were expecting a long wait, but at high noon, our wait was only 15 minutes. We started with the roasted red pepper and feta dip ($6.95) and thought it was a very interesting -- and large -- appetizer. We also ordered the "feast" for two -- a wonderful sampling of bbq ribs, chicken, pulled pork, grits (yummy), greens, cole slaw and their homemade pickles. At $29.95 for the two of us, it's one of the best deals on the menu -- and so much food, we could have skipped the appetizer.

We've eaten at almost every restaurant on the Biltmore Estate, and this is our favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NCWorldTraveler704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Right next door to the Biltmore estate. Very convenient and the food is fresh and fast . They used to be the actual stables and remain and close to original condition. Booths are in stalls which is fun. Nice to look at while dining. I got the chicken which was very good. My guest had the BBQ sampler which he really enjoyed.Waitress was gracious and friendly. Price is very reasonable for the setting and convenience.Highly recommend it!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank athena5365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Black Bean Burger Ever”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This restaurant, inside the horse stables at the Biltmore, is homey and decadent. The barn has gift shops in the tack rooms and the restaurant seating is in the horse stalls. The food is reasonably priced and service was great. I ordered the black bean burger and it was in "my top ten" for all-time best food. I also tasted the mac n cheese - wow!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katbug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Delicious Food, awesome service”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed the food - reasonably priced and delicious. The Sample platter of barbecue was great. ribs, pulled pork, chicken, collard greens. mmmmmm. The wait staff is super friendly - really made us feel like guests at the Biltmore.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stable Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Stable Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing