We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, average food”
Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #75 of 780 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: What constitutes "New South Flavors?" For us, it is begins with reverence for those time-honored Southern dishes. Served up by wonderful home cooks for years. We respect the freshness, the flavors and the food itself. But we like to jazz it up a little, add something deliciously unexpected to delight your palate. Our interpretation of traditional Southern fare is creative, inventive and satisfyingly scrumptious. Cheers to New South Flavor!
2 reviews
“Nice atmosphere, average food”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I will make the disclaimer that I cannot eat dairy or gluten, so this is a unique perspective. I had the eggs betty. The gluten free toast wasn't really toasted, and was just udis gluten free bread. If you have a food allergy, I'd recommend just getting a plate without that allergy, as opposed to a substitution. The fruit salad with tupelo honey was fresh and delicious. Dinner would probably be a better meal to have here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcipolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    213
    89
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location for families”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We tried to get to the original location, but it was hard with kids. No parking, no reservations. So, we were excited to came across the one in the South with convenient parking and, yes, reservations. Food was delicious, everything what we ordered was delicious. Biscuits and shrimp and grits - outstanding! Our little picky eaters enjoyed it too. Service was fast and friendly. It was a perfect finale for our Asheville vacation.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank natah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We gave it a try”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor about this restaurant so decided to give it a try. We had mixed reviews on the food. Part might have been our fault as 3 of our party had the chicken sandwich with a mayo-horse radish kind of spread on it and the horse radish was way to strong for us. We admit that we didn't read the menu as well as we should have and didn't know what kind of spread they put on it. We scraped off as much as we could but the taste was still strong. Again, our fault for not paying attention to details.

We were excited about tasting their awesome biscuits we heard so much about. They tasted wonderful but several of ours were still doughy in the middle and we noticed a film on the roof of our mouths afterwards. Interesting. Maybe just a bad batch we happened to get.

I think I would like to try this place again on a different visit. The atmosphere is modern but appealing. The outdoor seating looks nice. Staff was super friendly and we enjoyed all other aspects of our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marie_kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
167 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my first time eating at the South location and, while it does not have the atmosphere of the original location, the food is the real attraction here (and this location is much easier to get into on a weekend night). The appetizer and each of our entrées were all delicious - the grilled cheese sandwich especially. While you can of course find somewhat cheaper meals elsewhere, the quality is well worth the price. The biscuits that come with dinner are amazing and I could easily eat the whole plate of those myself and skip the meal.

The one complaint I would have with this restaurant is the drinks. I am not sure if it was the bartender this particular night or if this is standard, but the drinks were all very short on alcohol and the flavor combinations were not very good. Also, given the price, the drinks were very small. So, with the small drink size, large drink price, lack of alcohol, and odd flavor combinations, I will be skipping the drinks next time and sticking to the delicious food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious southern food with a contemporary twist”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Delicious, contemporary take on southern food in a trendy setting. It is also exciting and refreshing to find so many vegetarian options. Even carnivores will appreciate the Honey Vegetable Plate - lots of terrific options!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing