We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb entrees”
Review of Tupelo Honey

Tupelo Honey
Ranked #78 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Bar, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: What constitutes "New South Flavors?" For us, it is begins with reverence for those time-honored Southern dishes. Served up by wonderful home cooks for years. We respect the freshness, the flavors and the food itself. But we like to jazz it up a little, add something deliciously unexpected to delight your palate. Our interpretation of traditional Southern fare is creative, inventive and satisfyingly scrumptious. Cheers to New South Flavor!
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb entrees”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Loved this restaurant so much we ate there twice over the weekend!!!!! Lunch and breakfast. Best biscuits and jelly and the waiter and waitress were MOST attentive. All the food tasted very fresh and well presented. Hope to get one in our town. Would definitely be a restaurant we would frequently visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clemson1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    214
    90
    32
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We sat outside which was nice but I was disappointed with the food. I know this is a favorite around town, I just don't know why.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank OriennaGuermentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a place to hold a meeting”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Because the food is good, this place is extremely crowded. So please be mineful and don't go there to hold a business meeting. We could not believe that 4 individuals sat at the first table right in the door way and held a table for nearly two hours holding a business meeting, while people with children standing near waiting to be seated. It was very inconsiderate of them. Plus the place is extremely loud. Why one would hold a business meeting there is foolish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CruisingQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sat for 45 minutes while cook took his break!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Granted, I went just after the lunch rush, but my order was taken and I was left alone in the restaurant for 45 minutes with no explanation. The waiter caught me as I was walking out and said "Is there a problem?" with an attitude like I was committing a crime. When I pointed out how long I had been abandoned he said the cook would be back from his break and start our order shortly. He huffed and walked away when I said I was still leaving.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nthekiln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another great local restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is another great local place that has two locations in Asheville. Lots of good "down home" dishes. Especially the biscuits! Another restaurant that we will visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ujones_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Honey also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tupelo Honey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing