We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best meals of our trip”
Review of Curate

Curate
Ranked #3 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of our trip”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food at Curate is interesting, but light, so you don't feel awful when you walk out of there. We (two people) shared 5 small plates and one dessert and enjoyed every bite. The service was excellent. We made the reservation weeks in advance so we had a table, but I'd have been just as content sitting at the bar, watching the activity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khakio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,504
    467
    161
    44
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Despite our waitress lacking any signs of personality, we enthusiastically ordered
13 or so items off the menu. Of the 13 items, the highlight was the cheese board with a chutney type mix of cherries and apricot and several excellent cheeses and crostini. It was excellent. Nearly all of the other items were mediocre at best. The bill was high for three people near $200.00 though we did have several drinks. Overall none of us were impressed enough to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ziggy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
237 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Small plates done right”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We reserved a table at 5pm on Sunday, September 1. We were shopping in the area and decided to see if they could seat us early--not a chance. The place was packed at 4:15 and was still packed with people hoping to get a seat when we left about 6:20. There is a reason there is such a wait--every plate we tried was wonderful. We skipped dessert, opting instead to try another savory plate. We tried the shrimp and pork dishes others have mentioned and neither disappointed; we also tried the plate with all three hams--excellent. We had the sangria(white) table side and it was a good pick, too. Our waiter started out a bit unfriendly, but he warmed up and made the meal memorable. Make a reservation a week out, at least, and try as many plates as you can!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is a wonderful place for Spanish tapas. We have eaten here several times in the last several months and we have been pleased every time we have been there. The make a great sangria tableside and the olives are a great start. I love the potato and cod puree' - trust me it is worth it. Lots of different flavors and just the right amount to share.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience, best dinner ever”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What I loved about Curate was the simplicity....no over the top or heavy ingredients..just simple connoctions that enhanced the real flavor of the dishes. It was truly the best dining experience I have ever had and everyone at the table agreed.All of our dishes were wonderful, the ones we liked the most were the chilled mussels served in a light vinegarette with a garlic/tomato confit (delish) and the lamb skewers that were tender and tasty beyond belief. The attention to detail is appreciated also; with the lamb came homemade pickles that were good enough to be a dish on their own, etc. My husband is gluten free and was very happy that they menu not only had many choices for him, but also had them listed as such. Service from Jade was impeccable and friendly. Three of us ate for $98, which included a bottle of wine..we were plenty full and able to sample several dishes for a very reasonable price. Thanks for a dinner to be remembered!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yayafabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing