We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of Town Anniversary Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curate

Curate
Ranked #3 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Out of Town Anniversary Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great tapas place. Not huge and somewhat difficult to get into, but worth it. I live in a big city and haved had tapas dozens of times and this ranks right up there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,412
    449
    154
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ohioans love Curate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We sat at the bar and let the waiter tell us what to drink and eat. The ultimate gin and tonic was great. We had the cheese tray and ham sampler. Everything was delicious. Wish I lived closer

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We definitely saved the best until last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

On our last day in Asheville, when we had just become accustomed enough to the town to imagine ourselves there for much longer, my husband asked that favorite question of mine: "Where should we eat?"

We had spoken to several folks during our short stay there and I had heard of a place called Curate. We had actually just walked past it that morning. So playing a quick association of all these jumbled thoughts, I suggested it.

There was a 45 minute wait the very nice hostess told us...and that was for bar seats. But hey, we were in no hurry and so we waited.

Well, the wait was more than well worth it. The dishes we had to begin with were Spanish tapas standards, Curate's specialty. Pan con tomate, serrano ham, etc. But when the neighboring couple ordered a beautifully sauced shrimp dish, I had to entreat upon my husband to add one more to the order.

Hailed in the menu as the best "tapa" in Asheville, we gushed and oohed and ahhed over the dish. The shrimp were perfectly cooked. The sauce was a garlic sauce that was so devine, the garlic had to be eaten without a care in the world of what one's breath would be like. Then to dip the bread into the sauce was a vacation all unto itself.

So would i recommend Curate if you venture to Asheville. How could I not? I've had dreams about that shrimp dish.....and they were all good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdpiercewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top Tapas Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We are not locals, but visitors to Asheville. We made our choice to dine at Curate based on several personal recommendations from friends and high marks by Trip Advisor. We made our reservations several days before our arrival for a Saturday night. We arrived early and they were very busy. We were warmly greeted and seated in minutes. Our Server Christine promptly arrived at our table and explained the menu and some of the specialties the restaurant offered. Once our order was taken our food soon arrived, item by item. One at a time the Tapas would be served. Each one beautifully presented. As we finished one, the next would arrive. All were delicious. Special mention to the table side mixed Sangria and The Chocolate Mousse and Chestnut Pralines with Raspberry Sorbet that produced loud "Ummmms" around the table. At no time did we feel rushed or hurried. A very busy night for them but the team work implemented in the delivery of our food did not go unnoticed. We will make this a regular stop when we visit Asheville, NC again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Enjoyed lunch at Curate today. Excellent service, but most importantly, the tapas dishes were delicious. The biggest problem is trying to decide which dish to order. Go with several people if possible and share. If only two people it would be fun to sit at the kitchen bar to watch the magic being created. This excellent chef and staff are to be commended. Please be aware this is not cheap, fast food cuisine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing