We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum!”
Review of Curate

Curate
Ranked #4 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“yum!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband was skeptical when I wanted to order the brussels sprouts, raisins and cauliflower with a celery root puree (he said "sounds like baby food to me"). He was almost licking the plate afterwards (the portion was a little small), the patatas bravas were cooked to perfection, the #1 tapas in Asheville (the shrimp) lived up to it's name and the tomate bread was also very good. Of course the red Sangria was fabulous as well as our service. Highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,560
    475
    168
    44
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FUN and delicious”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and energy. Food was tasty,fresh and well displayed. Waited for over 1 hour for a seat at the bar. Reservations recommended for a table but highly recommend sitting at the bar to enjoy the view of the food prep. Servers well informed and made excellent recommendations on food and wine pairings

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robinmaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Love Tapas”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tapas is one of my favorite dining pleasures and Curate is a great addition to the Asheville food scene. The menu offers lots of variety without being overwhelming and the wait staff is very informative. The atmosphere is inviting and not your normal blah eating area. Good luck Curate!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Doing it right on a Tuesday night!!!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently was fortunate enough to have an opportunity to dine once again at one of my favorite restaurants in downtown Asheville. I happen to be by myself as I hadn't planned to go anywhere for dinner, but so glad I did. I arrived around 5:30pm was seated promply at the bar by request in what I think is the best seat if your on your own. Let me tell you they were "Doing it right on a Tuesday night!!!" I had a wonderful server Kristy who was very knowledgeable and patient about helping me choose, or I should say remember a wine I had had there some time ago the Sameiras.
It was excellent and complemented the 7 different taps dishes that followed. That's right each was as good or better than the one before: Tabla de Jamon, Gambas al ajilo, Setas al Jerez, Secreto, Pulpo a la Gallega, Rabo de Toro, Butifarra con Monjetes and for desert Crema Catalana. Try them all, they were fantastic and could not have been any better!!! I asked Chad who was expiditing a question about one of the dishes coming off the line and he didn't even hesitate to tll me all about it. He was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about everything going on, and they were very busy by this time
Everything was so good I had to mention it to the manager Nathan, again he could not have been nicer and more professional. I have to say I was there 3 hours watching the staff as they created these fantastic edibles and waited on guests. They were focused, friendly, and seemed to enjoy what they were doing.Yes the restaurant is beautiful inside and unlike anything else in downtown Asheville. The staff were nice and have been well chosen, but like anything else "nice" is not enough the food has to be there too. This is one of the few, maybe the only place I have dined in Asheville that has all three!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

World class Tapas in this Asheville. We asked a few locals who said this was the best place in Asheville, and they weren't kidding. Probably the best place in North Carolina. A destination for real foodies!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jagara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing