We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watching the kitchen at work!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Curate

Curate
Ranked #3 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton Avenue
Transit: Asheville Transit provides bus service throughout the City of Asheville and other local areas with 24 bus routes running from 6 a.m.-11:30 p.m., Monday - Saturday. Routes originate at Transit Center, located 49 Coxe Avenue in downtown Asheville (next to the U.S. Post Office). On-duty information assistant provides assistance with maps & schedules.
Description: THE BEST OF SPAIN, conveniently located downtown Asheville! Curate is pleased to bring the best Spain has to offer through our traditional cuisine, unrivaled hospitality and festive, energetic atmosphere. In Spanish, Curate, means 'cure yourself.' Whether you're looking for a fun-filled evening out with friends or a quick bite before or after one of Asheville's many art or music productions, Curate is the place you go to take care of yourself, by letting us take care of you. Please join us for some fun...Just say "una cana!"
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
169 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Watching the kitchen at work!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I sat at the kitchen counter.......best seats in the house as we watched the wonderful tapas plates being prepared and served. The food itself was just wonderful.....real Spanish tastes and creatively prepared. The chorizo and potato chips was whimsical and delicious. Shrimp in garlic oil with grilled toast was mouthwatering. Pan fried mushrooms were delicious.....and I love mushrooms. The service was attentive and questions about dishes answered professionally. We were there on a Tuesday night and the place was jammed, so obviously Curate's excellence is not a secret, so reservations are recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdofMaineSoCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,460
    456
    159
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dinner AND A Show!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We ate at Curate last night and had a fabulous meal. My husband and I usually don't choose to eat at tapas restaurants because we usually find that there are a couple of really good ones and the rest are nothing to write home about and the value ends up not being there by the time you've ordered enough to eat. We went to Curate based on a friend's recommendation who lives in Asheville after we saw that it was number 1 on Tripadvisor with outstanding reviews. We were not disappointed. Curate lived up to our expectations and then exceeded them by our experience sitting at the bar. We were totally fascinated by watching the kitchen, which is right there for your viewing if you are at the bar... you are practically a part of it. The food was really good. We (my husband and I) ordered the fried Marcona Almonds, 3 types of Jamon, fried eggplant, goat cheese stuffed roasted read peppers, sauteed spinach and shrimp with garlic. All good, next we would order all again except try the pork instead of the Jamon and 2 shrimps with garlic, one each, instead of just one... by far the best shrimp dish we have ever had. The service was also good, excellent spanish wine recommendations and great descriptions of the tapas. Our only disappointment was that our server forgot to put our shrimp order in which was fine, it happens, especially when you are as slammed as they are, but it would have been nice for him to just acknowledge that that was what had happened. My husband was a server at a nice steak house in Atlanta in his former life and he found this a little off putting.

Go, wait, and sit at the bar, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank runnerchic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not just tappas ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Curate is not just tappas "style"; it is real Spanish tappas! Quality ingredients, skilled preparation, ample portions and knowlegeable service made me think I was in the Basque Country of Spain. A freind and I enjoyed 7 wonderful preparations and especially liked the Jamon selections.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wonderful food! The honeyed eggplant was to die for. We sat at the bar and watching the staff prep was like watching a well choreographed dance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhorner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
206 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Below-average service ruined our experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were so excited to try Curate on our recent trip to Asheville/Candler area. It was our 1 night out, and thus perhaps we had our hopes too high. Further disclaimer: we were in Spain this past march and had awesome tapas, so again, too high expectations. HOWEVER, good service is something that ANY restaurant should be able to provide, and we did NOT receive it here.
I made reservations 2 months in advance, but somehow we got stuck at the very back on the restaurant at a small cramped table. This happened to another couple that also had reservations at the same time as ours- seems odd to not somehow track people who thought ahead to reserve their table. The hostess was a bit brisk when we walked in too, but it was very crowded on a Saturday night, so no big deal. Our waiter, however, was not very friendly, either on our first interaction or throughout the hour we were there. He asked if we'd had tapas before, and we said we had just been in Madrid and enjoyed them earlier this year. He then acted as if we hadn't said anything and pointed to the menu to tell us that the appetizers were on the left. It was exactly rude, but certainly not friendly or helpful. We ordered 1 drink each, and 3 small plates to start, with every intention of ordering more. The dishes came out very piecemeal, and we only had the fried eggplant (really not sure what the hype is about on this one, it seemed just fine but not extraordinary) before we had finished our drinks! It took nearly 45 minutes to get our 2nd dishes (bread & olives), the bread was ok and the olive were great, but we were honestly getting pretty hungry at that point. We asked for the check, it came relatively quickly but then we were waiting another 10+ minutes for our waiter to take the signed receipt, so we asked a hostess who walked by. The waiter didn't seem to notice or care that we were not at all pleased. All-in-all, it was below average service that really made us leave without finishing our evening and the few dishes we tried did not really make up for it. I'm sure the place has potential and perhaps our expectations were too high, but we were very disappointed and would not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EButton, Owner at Curate, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
I'm always sorry to read or hear when a guest has an unpleasant experience. We always address the concern and review what might have made things go array.

I spent some time with our Assistant Manager reviewing all the reservations for that Saturday night looking for clues to what may have gone wrong. Your table was for 2, we seat tables for 2 in the rear dining area or at the bar if they request to sit there. I'm sorry you hadn't noted in your reservation, made earlier in the same month, this request. We would have certainly been happy to seat you at the bar, or a bistro table at the very front of the restaurant.

But, what is troublesome is there were no tables who received just the few items you noted in your review. All of the tables ordered, and received, many more dishes and all the tables of 2 started and finished their meals within 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours. I'm not clear how to address this complaint. I appreciate your taking the time to write this review and would like to have a better understanding.

I did speak with your server about him not hearing your message of having visited Spain and therefore familiar with tapas. You are correct, he didn't hear you. Thank you for giving me an opportunity to remind our staff it's important to listen carefully, even when they are busy. I'm sorry it had to be your experience and ultimately made you conclude not to visit us again.

Best regards,
The Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curate also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Curate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing