We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Ever Have One of Those... Life. Is. Fantastic. Moments?”

The Hop Ice Cream Cafe
Ranked #13 of 46 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Homemade Ice Cream and Vegan Ice Cream. Organic Coffee & Espresso. Birthday Cakes and Parties. Locally owned.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You Ever Have One of Those... Life. Is. Fantastic. Moments?”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

No? Then you will here. Vegan options galore. Outstanding service (come on folks, it's high school kids working. Give 'em a break). The ice cream is wonderful and our children enjoyed the indoor play area, as well as the gorgeous views outside. Will definitely keep this on our "must visit" list for our next Asheville trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heatherstao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    40
    18
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Seriously folks?! Flavors were definitely interesting but tasted dull. Their ice cream was not worth the expense or calories. Go to the grocery and buy a pint of Ben and Jerry's or even Igle's own brand. And check out the photo I posted of their trash outside one of their doors. Wish we saw that first. Definitely wouldn't have gone in.

Helpful?
Thank Columbus_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Really Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not much to say besides this was really good, homemade ice cream, and great prices. They had about 30 flavors I'd say... many interesting ones like Kale/Blueberry. I had Butter Pecan and Mint Chocolate Chip. Both were really tasty. The service was great and the employees were very friendly and willing to let you sample the unusual flavors. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Freindly ice cream fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

They serve some great ice cream with many exotic flavor selections from which to choose. Nice family fun atmosphere. It took my wife so long to decide which flavor to select after sampling quit a few that I was done with my single dip cone by the time she got hers. Needless to say the service was friendly and helpful serving good quality homemade ice cream. The shop features free Wi-Fi and free family friendly entertainment, magicians, jugglers etc. Along with their regular ice cream menu they also have Gluten free, sugar free, vegan and sorbets. Great stop for the ice cream lover...who doesn't love ice cream?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RU4NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like an old fashioned ice cream parlor ... Only better!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our new favorite place for a sundae or a banana split or some other decadent ice cream treat is the Hop Ice Cream Cafe on Merrimon Ave. Sometimes in a town where the finest restaurants in the world are, you lose track of simple pleasures. Now while this ice cream cafe offers unusual flavors and treats, it allows basic childhood memories to be relived. What is better than a hot fudge sundae or a banana split on a hot summer evening? They have a treat I'm looking forward to next time in that I saw a lovely older woman enjoying. It was decadent .... German chocolate cake with 4 scoops of ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream and a cherry!!!! I think she was sharing it with a friend, but I could have put a serious dent in it!!! can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Hop Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing