We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Ice Cream”

The Hop Ice Cream Cafe
Ranked #14 of 47 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Homemade Ice Cream and Vegan Ice Cream. Organic Coffee & Espresso. Birthday Cakes and Parties. Locally owned.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Really Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not much to say besides this was really good, homemade ice cream, and great prices. They had about 30 flavors I'd say... many interesting ones like Kale/Blueberry. I had Butter Pecan and Mint Chocolate Chip. Both were really tasty. The service was great and the employees were very friendly and willing to let you sample the unusual flavors. Will be back for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    39
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
238 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Freindly ice cream fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

They serve some great ice cream with many exotic flavor selections from which to choose. Nice family fun atmosphere. It took my wife so long to decide which flavor to select after sampling quit a few that I was done with my single dip cone by the time she got hers. Needless to say the service was friendly and helpful serving good quality homemade ice cream. The shop features free Wi-Fi and free family friendly entertainment, magicians, jugglers etc. Along with their regular ice cream menu they also have Gluten free, sugar free, vegan and sorbets. Great stop for the ice cream lover...who doesn't love ice cream?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RU4NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
167 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Like an old fashioned ice cream parlor ... Only better!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our new favorite place for a sundae or a banana split or some other decadent ice cream treat is the Hop Ice Cream Cafe on Merrimon Ave. Sometimes in a town where the finest restaurants in the world are, you lose track of simple pleasures. Now while this ice cream cafe offers unusual flavors and treats, it allows basic childhood memories to be relived. What is better than a hot fudge sundae or a banana split on a hot summer evening? They have a treat I'm looking forward to next time in that I saw a lovely older woman enjoying. It was decadent .... German chocolate cake with 4 scoops of ice cream, hot fudge, whipped cream and a cherry!!!! I think she was sharing it with a friend, but I could have put a serious dent in it!!! can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I took two friends to The Hop on Merrimon tonight. Walked in, three employees behind the counter. One guy waiting on his high school friends, the other two cleaning behind the counter complaining about the goopy mess they were sticking to. The place was a pig sty, run down and dirty. We stood there patiently waiting for someone to notice us, or maybe the dude chatting up his friends might get the hint that he should wrap it up and take care of the paying customers. The girl prattling on about the disgusting floor looked at me (unconcerned that we were waiting......) and said, "I am stuck here in goop!" My response - "Well, that's unappetizing." She didn't get it. The third kid was sweeping the floor, and without washing his hands, alternately picked waffle cones off the waffle machine and rolled them, them went back to handling the nasty broom. Then the manager appeared. I thought maybe we would get waited on. Oh no. He actually made eye contact with me and turned around and walked in the back.

This crew had absolutely no concept of customer service. The experience was appalling. I walked out because I knew I couldn't eat anything there. Oh - did I mention there were three dogs in the "cafe?" Since when is it ok to have dogs in an establishment that serves food? Nasty, disgusting, pit. The ice cream might be good, but beware of what is being transmitted onto your cone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible selection!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It might take you 20 minutes to make up your mind about your order...but you will not be disappointed! ! Family friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Meredith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Hop Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing