We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choices!”

The Hop Ice Cream Cafe
Ranked #12 of 46 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Homemade Ice Cream and Vegan Ice Cream. Organic Coffee & Espresso. Birthday Cakes and Parties. Locally owned.
Level Contributor
226 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great choices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

There is a wide variety of ice cream including some unusual choices like "blueberry kale" and a lot of vegan choices. You can sample any of them before buying. I tried most of the vegan ice creams and chose the raspberry mocha which was delicious. The rest of my party had regular ice cream and they all enjoyed them very much. My son-in-law said the cinnamon was outstanding.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    39
    17
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
186 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I checked this place out because we love good ice cream. This place is hard to notice it's in a building that looks like a small two story Strip Mall and parking lot was packed. Inside they had a little side area where there was a group dressed up like they were in the 50's there was a guy there making animal balloons for the kids. It was a little crazy/hectic but the two guys behind the counter hustled to get everyone taken care of.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Give Your Tastebuds A Jolt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I love the exotic flavors of ice cream available at this cafe. We have visited three different times, and I always try something new and unusual. This time it was ginger/molasses, and it was divine!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank levida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vegan ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

They had 6 or 8 different vegan ice creams.
We sampled many and enjoyed what we bought.
Worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BouvieDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Had very nice coffee drinks on a recent afternoon. Only one person working, she was very busy. Never lost patience with people, and made a very good drink!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ask108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop Ice Cream Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Hop Ice Cream Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing