We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but pleasant experience”

Fired Up Creative Lounge Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Fun, easy and totally relaxing! Fired Up! Creative Lounge is a hands-on studio where you are the artist. Adults, teens and kids can all design and create glazed ceramics, pottery, mosaics and fused glass art and jewelry. We can help you create beautiful, one-of-a-kind keepsakes for friends, family or yourself. Our experienced staff can show you various techniques or you can explore on your own. All projects are offered on a walk-in basis. No appointments - or art experience - needed! Our friendly staff will help you get started. Stamps, stencils, idea books, and samples throughout the store are inspiration. Fired Up! is locally owned and operated by Linda and Mark Chester of Fairview, NC.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive but pleasant experience”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Owner was very friendly and helpful when we entered the shop on a weekday afternoon. We came with a 6- and 9-year old and there were plenty of cute options. Pricing is per piece plus a studio fee. So for 2 6" penguins it came to $39. It took us just 20 minutes to pick out paints and do the painting. A little expensive for regular visits but ok for a vacation visit. Now I am comparing the price to the plaster painting places we usually frequent with the kids at home. These pieces have to be fired and generally take a week but the owner was able to accommodate our vacation schedule and complete them in 4 days. When we picked them up they were in bubble wrap and all set for travelling. I think the activities geared toward adults sounded like fun and maybe more suited to the pricing. Overall, nice little place they have there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carbocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh to be a kid again!!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had such a fun time playing and allowing ourselves to just "do" for the fun of it. We listened to homegrown jazz music (by the owner's? band --- he goes above and beyond so I assume he owns the studio) and took out time selecting from the many glazes and stencils. Met a great couple from Georgia celebrating their 20th and shared our experiences. We felt right at home, uninhibited and thrilled to do something we have not done before. We can't wait for our creations to arrive in the mail, a permanent reminder of our wonderful stay in Asheville. Give it a try, you might surprise yourself!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Be creative!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Pick an object to paint; decide on your colors and design; immerse yourself in the creative process. These paint your own pottery places are nothing new but Fired Up is staffed by friendly people, is located on scenic Wall Street and has a relaxing vibe inside. It's fun, 'nuf said.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
“What a fun thing to do with kids getting too old for the children's museum type stuff!”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were in Asheville for several days and decided to do some paint-your-own-pottery at Fired Up. It was something different but so appropriate for kids who are really too old for things like the children's museum type venues. There are lots of pieces in many different price ranges. Linda Chester, the owner, told us that if we were leaving before the pieces were fired she would be able to ship them to us. I would definitely go again the next time we are there. They make great gifts for grandparents or friends. I did a holiday serving plate with the recipient's family name on it. She had a lot of displayed ideas for inspiration too.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
Thank foodiefromthemidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, fun place to get your creative juices flowing! :)”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My family loved the Fired Up Creative Lounge.... so many different pottery pieces to choose from and create your own original piece of art! I painted some sushi plates that I can't believe I made myself, I've had friends ask where to buy them. :) The staff was very friendly and helpful and let us relax and enjoy coming up with our own masterpieces! :) I love the pieces we made that we have displayed in our home and that we found something we all could enjoy doing as a family. Even my 12 year old son can't wait to go back to paint another piece he picked out after seeing his own finished piece, he thought it was so cool how different it looks from when you are done painting to when it gets fired in the kiln. There are so many more ideas that pop up while you're there, it's definitely a place you want to visit more than once! :)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fired Up Creative Lounge Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fired Up Creative Lounge Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing