We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Asheville comfort for food and atmosphere”
Review of Sunny Point Cafe

Sunny Point Cafe
Ranked #2 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: An Asheville favorite since 2003, Sunny Point Café serves award-winning upscale comfort food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Craft cocktails, beers and wines are available to enjoy with meals. Sunny Point Café is a family-owned and operated West Asheville restaurant featuring a covered, outdoor dining area and an on-site production garden providing fresh produce just steps from the kitchen. Well behaved dogs are welcome. Reservations accepted for dinner only.
Scotia, NY
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“West Asheville comfort for food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Reminds me of the ambience I found at the Main Street Bistro in New Palz, NY. The B.L.A.T (Maple black pepper bacon, lettuce, smashed avocado and tomato on a buttery croissant with garlic aioli) makes any other B.L.T. pale in comparison. My wife's Mighty Good Pork Sandwich served on a rosemary parmesan biscuit with apple butter mustard, melted brie and sliced fresh apple was equally savored. The bottomless cup of coffee was an added treat. I was told that the breakfast is one of the best in the area.
Peruse the menu and plan your meal if you visit the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotiaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,500
    387
    83
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this place for brunch, breakfast, lunch or dinner. Fresh, excellent quality food, service with a smile and cool Asheville vibe. You haven't seen Asheville til you've been here. If there's a line, wait; it really is wortht it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caeri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have had breakfast and dinner here and were pleasantly surprised by the delicious food in this tiny place. Breakfast brings long lines but once you get inside you will see why...delicious food but tiny place. The savory french toast and huevos rancheros were to die for. You can make reservations for dinner!! Be ready for some good southern cooking!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sungoddess33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A local favorite but we didn't have a good experience”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A local favorite but we didn't have a good experience.
The place is bordering on dirty and the food , when/if you can get it, is just average.
They claim that the greens come from their backyard small plot but there's no way that it could produce so much.
After ordering we waited for the longest time.
We were growing more and more irritated seeing a large table which had been seated after us, being served and finishing their meal when finally we called in the manager (our waiter had gone incognito).
She apologized and reassured us that the delay was not because the other large table was "locals" and we were foreigners but it had been caused by some "computer glitch" (?).
Probably our experience was not common and if so many locals like it they must know better...
But I doubt I'll go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zickzock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fresh food, wonderful breakfast!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great little cafe with fresh ingredients. I can always tell when a restaurant uses good ingredients, my stomach was happy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalinaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Point Cafe also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Point Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing