We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chai Pani

Chai Pani
Ranked #26 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Innovative, fun, affordable, delicious, mind blasting Indian Cuisine featuring "chaat" - crunchy, spicy, sweet, tangy, brightly flavored Indian street snacks and "Thalis" - traditional family meals highlighting India's amazing culinary diversity. Recommended by the New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Bon Appetite, Food & Wine and GQ Magazine.
Toronto
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Really well done southern Indian food. Perfectly spiced with layered flavours. Great Bhel Puri. Half a mark off for the chai which was watery and way too gingery - hardly any cardamom taste at all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    204
    46
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
flowery branch
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious unusual food, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

wonderful menu, terrific indian food, quick service. Strange hours, and very busy so be sure to plan ahead. Sometimes long waits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helsh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome all around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere, good service, interesting menu with delicious food! Wish I lived closer so I could eat here all the time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Downtown Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great treasure in downtown Asheville for Indian food. All of the dishes are good and the prices are very reasonable.



Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JayneTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Goodness & Not Too Spicy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

When eating Indian food, I am sometimes hesitant because if the food is overly spicy, I feel terrible for the rest of the day. Fortunately, this was not the case at Chai Pani. There are vegetarian options and the food is not overly spicy. We arrived for lunch and were promptly greeted and served. They serve Kingfisher! Kingfisher beer is difficult to find, so it was great to be able to order uncommon beers such as Kingfisher and Taj Mahal. The colourful photos throughout the restaurant add to the wonderful atmosphere. I found the price for our meal to be reasonable. We each had a lunch special complete with rice, roti, naan, and thali and beer for under $30.00.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeniferTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Pani also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chai Pani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing