We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best lunch spots in Asheville.”
Review of Chai Pani

Chai Pani
Ranked #28 of 784 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Description: Innovative, fun, affordable, delicious, mind blasting Indian Cuisine featuring "chaat" - crunchy, spicy, sweet, tangy, brightly flavored Indian street snacks and "Thalis" - traditional family meals highlighting India's amazing culinary diversity. Recommended by the New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, Bon Appetite, Food & Wine and GQ Magazine.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best lunch spots in Asheville.”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Before chai Pani came to town the Asheville lunch scene was sadly lacking in inexpensive quick options. Chai Pani led the way in providing an interesting, quick lunch for a very reasonable price. Yay Chai Pani!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamlwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    209
    50
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sloppy Jai!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I always get the sloppy jai's. Their version of sloppy joe's. So good! I also never eat french fries, but, can't resist theirs. Perfectly thin and crispy. My husband is also a fan of their okra fries. Def. a good place to hit up!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarajane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chai Pani Oh My!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

When you go to Asheville (not if, because you really should go) make a stop at Chai Pani. I'm in love with this place. I'm in love with the idea of this place. The whole story about the couple that started it and how they merge food from both north and south India (most indian restaurants only specialize in one or the other) along with the featured "street food" really offers up the feeling that you have truly experienced India in some way. Aside from the theory itself, the food in fantastic. We had the Dahi Sev Puri, fried okra and the non-vegetarian thali. We also had the cheaper indian lager, which was nice because it was super-light and didn't bog down or conflict with the dishes.
Our waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable and really tuned in with what we were looking for in a meal.
Chai have everything I love in restaurant, atmosphere without being pretentious, a great back story, humble origins, amazing and authentic food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best Indian food we've had since leaving the UK 20 years ago.”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Every dish was delicious and tasted authentic and homemade. No generic curry base here! Cheap and cheerful in the best possible sense.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helplawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing, lovely food that will differs from traditional Indian cuisine”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I love this restaurant. When in Asheville, we eat here whenever we can. It is a wonderful place with tasty food. The staff is happy and helpful. The food is superb and hits the mark every time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gratefulfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chai Pani also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chai Pani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing