We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty & Affordable”
Review of Pack's Tavern

Pack's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Pack's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 785 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Marjorie St
Transit: Bus stop 50 yards from building
Description: Pack's Tavern is proud to be housed in the historic Hayes and Hopson building in the middle of Pack Square Park. We are a locally family owned and operated restaurant serving a deliciously eclectic menu. We pride ourselves on top notch customer service and an inviting atmosphere. Pack's Tavern offers something for everyone as a restaurant, bar, tavern, event space, parkside patio, shuffleboard, 13 TV's, and free live music! Pack's Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand formed burgers, from wonderful appetizers to hot pizza from our wood fired oven in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville's "front yard", Pack Square Park. What else separates Pack's Tavern from other establishments is our unique variety of both local and regional craft beer. Our servers are happy to offer suggestion or try one of our beer "flights!" We rotate 30 or more local, national, and international craft beers to offer the best selection available.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty & Affordable”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Ambience was nice with a lot of dark wood, pub-like atmosphere. Food was very tasty, service was attentive, and cost was reasonable! Our party was there in the late afternoon, between lunch and dinner so it was not very crowded and there was no wait. Definitely will be recommending and returning to sample more of the menu!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dawn1227, I'm so glad we could make your night with a wonderful meal in a beautiful space, all at a great price. Thank you for the kind words! It sounds like our waitstaff did an excellent job as well; I'll be sure to share your compliments. We appreciate your recommendation!

Join us again whenever you're in Asheville,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    336
    88
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such a fun place with good food”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visited twice during our trip, once for drinks and the next night for dinner and a party we were attending. Such a fun atmosphere and great location. The staff was very helpful even though we had a large group and they were busy. Live music and two bars were nice as well. Always a good time here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Nina, if you're not having fun when you're here, we're doing something wrong. Glad to hear your visit was a blast! We'll chalk it up to some great food and very friendly service. Expect plenty of the same if you ever join us again! Hopefully we'll see you whenever you're in town.

Best wishes,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food; service lacking ”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We were in Asheville visiting for the first time and saw good reviews for Pack's Tavern, so we gave it a shot. We had drinks at the bar while waiting for our table. We wound up outside on the patio and the weather was perfect for an evening dinner. We were a little disappointed in the service, as the server seemed distracted; she wasn't on her game with out table and we felt left out. This place would have gotten 5 stars for our first visit if the service was better. Somewhat disappointed since the reviews we saw were generally excellent. We'd probably try again, but there's too many other choices around town that we will try when going back.

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Service is a crucial part of the dining experience, Jeffrey, so it's disappointing to hear we dropped the ball with your table. Everyone on our staff is dedicated to taking care of our guests, so I'm certain this was merely an off-night for your server. I hope it won't keep you from joining us again should you return to Asheville. We'd love another chance to show you some better hospitality.

Best wishes,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pet friendly patio”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We are traveling with our daughter's pooch,so it was really nice to be able to have dinner on the patio in a place where Max was invited too! The sweet waitress even brought him a bowl of water. The food was good and the downtown atmosphere was great for people watching on a Saturday night. We'd recommend the fish tacos and the French dip.

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
just1sailboat, dogs are always welcome on our patio! Thanks for bringing Max along to enjoy lunch with the family. It's a pleasure to hear everyone had a lovely time. There's more fish tacos and French dip to savor, so you'll have to stop in again soon. Don't forget to bring Max!

All the best,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Fl
Level Contributor
187 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Sports Bar Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Very good spot for lunch, right in the heart of town. Service is fast, food is tasty, and serving size is impressive. The specialty BLT recommended by our waiter was delicious and gargantuan! My companion wasn't thrilled that they serve Pepsi and not Coke products, but lemonade on the menu solved the problem. While I understand Pack's can be noisy in the evening due to its size and multiple tv's showing various events, lunch time was fine. Conversation was easy even though most tables were full. My complaint on that day, though, was that the booth behind us must have needed repair, and a workman was in the process of removing it. It, however, was attached to bench seat I was sitting on. I was nearly tossed out of my seat! The man apologized but continued working until the booth was removed. That surely could have been done earlier in the day or when the restaurant was closed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieintally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
foodieintally, thank you for joining us for lunch during your visit to Asheville! It sounds like your meal was huge and very satisfying--glad to hear it. I'm very sorry for the disruption caused by the workman however; we hoped to get that seat fixed before our lunch guests arrived. I'll pass along your feedback and make sure we're more careful in the future. Thanks for your honesty!

Join us again next time you're in town,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack's Tavern also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pack's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing