We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Value, Excellent Location”
Review of Pack's Tavern

Pack's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Pack's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 811 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Marjorie St
Transit: Bus stop 50 yards from building
Description: Pack's Tavern is proud to be housed in the historic Hayes and Hopson building in the middle of Pack Square Park. We are a locally family owned and operated restaurant serving a deliciously eclectic menu. We pride ourselves on top notch customer service and an inviting atmosphere. Pack's Tavern offers something for everyone as a restaurant, bar, tavern, event space, parkside patio, shuffleboard, 13 TV's, and free live music! Pack's Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand formed burgers, from wonderful appetizers to hot pizza from our wood fired oven in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville's "front yard", Pack Square Park. What else separates Pack's Tavern from other establishments is our unique variety of both local and regional craft beer. Our servers are happy to offer suggestion or try one of our beer "flights!" We rotate 30 or more local, national, and international craft beers to offer the best selection available.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Pack's is great place for a good meal in downtown Asheville. The lunch portion ribeye is a great deal and it was cooked rare even for the thinner lunch cut. The dinner ribeye is VERY good. I have enjoyed the fish and chips, too. They have an excellent beer list serving several offerings from the local craft breweries (there or 14 or 15 in the county) Great access to Pack Square (right next to it), downtown and Asheville Community Theatre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John_Galt_828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

John_Galt_828, glad to hear we're serving your favorite ribeye in town! Thanks for the kudos and for spreading the word about us on TripAdvisor. Whether you're out for a beer or a top notch meal, we hope you'll always make us your first stop.

Cheers,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 789 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Pack’s Tavern is in a lovingly restored building in the heart of Asheville, adjacent to Pack Square Park. The food is definitely good, but this is a place where locals and tourists alike come to enjoy the ambiance, good service, and wonderful craft beer choices.

We started with both wine and beer from a good list—and priced right. Then we had nachos—with house-made tortilla chips in various hues. For dinner, we had the fish and chips and a barbeque bacon cheddar burger with fries. Everything was delicious, though my husband was sure the fish was frozen, not fresh. My burger was cooked to perfection, something unusual when requesting it be cooked rare.

Our service was friendly, very attentive, and knowledgeable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

KenCookie, thank you so much for your kind words. "Lovingly restored" is the perfect way to describe what we've done with our historic building, and it's a pleasure to know that shows through. I'll pass along your compliments to the kitchen and waitstaffs for their excellent work!

Hope to see you again soon,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stopped in for lunch at Pack's Tavern after visiting the art museum nearby and we were not disappointed. Great atmosphere, friendly service and good food. Nothing over-the-top but fresh and tasty salads and a very good sandwich and burger selection, something for everyone. Also a great selection of beers on tap, it is a tavern! I'll definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RU4NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

RU4NJ, glad to hear we made your day at the museum even better with a tasty meal and some welcoming service to boot! We love to meet folks from out of town. If you find yourself in Asheville again soon, don't forget about us. We'd love to see you again.

All the best,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Fun place to take a group. They accommodated our 14+ table with great service and food. TVs and table shuffleboard were key for the short wait with kids and family.

Thank bmttrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

bmttrips, it's great to hear you and your group all had a wonderful time with us! Thank you for reaching out. Anytime you're in Asheville we'd love to welcome you back. There's room for everyone!

Safe travels,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A convenient location for local workers looking for quick service and food or easy access for tourists. Has most of attributes for a successful eatery, except parking is difficult. I had Stir Fry Chicken and Shrimp(lunch plate). A little too sweet for my taste, however chicken and shrimp were cooked perfectly. One of our party had a "Rise and Shine Burger", came with Sunnyside egg on top of crispy bacon strips on top of a juicy nice sized and tasty burger. Another had the Shredded Pork Soft Tacos and a fresh Pineapple Salsa. Overall, food is good, prices reasonable, and pleasant, efficient waitstaff and should be a place to consider when visiting or living in the area.
Savvy Traveler 2012

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve W, Owner at Pack's Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Nancy, your recommendation means the world to us. Thank you so much for spreading the word on TripAdvisor! I love that you and your party all tried something different and everyone enjoyed themselves. I'll pass along your compliments to my waitstaff as well for being on their A-game! Here's hoping you'll stop in to see us again whenever you're in Asheville.

Take care,
Steve Wright, Managing Partner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack's Tavern also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pack's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing