We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Pack's Tavern

Pack's Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Pack's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Marjorie St
Transit: Bus stop 50 yards from building
Description: Pack's Tavern is proud to be housed in the historic Hayes and Hopson building in the middle of Pack Square Park. We are a locally family owned and operated restaurant serving a deliciously eclectic menu. We pride ourselves on top notch customer service and an inviting atmosphere. Pack's Tavern offers something for everyone as a restaurant, bar, tavern, event space, parkside patio, shuffleboard, 13 TV's, and free live music! Pack's Tavern offers outstanding service, the best drinks in town, and a large eclectic menu of over 60 items; everything from signature salads to hand formed burgers, from wonderful appetizers to hot pizza from our wood fired oven in a friendly, hospitable atmosphere. All to be enjoyed in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Asheville's "front yard", Pack Square Park. What else separates Pack's Tavern from other establishments is our unique variety of both local and regional craft beer. Our servers are happy to offer suggestion or try one of our beer "flights!" We rotate 30 or more local, national, and international craft beers to offer the best selection available.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Local sports bar/restaurant downtown that is definitely worth checking out. Good live music and really good food of all varieties. My husband got a hamburger that he is still raving about and my shrimp and grits were to die for! I would definitely recommend trying the fried green tomatoes as an appetizer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    328
    87
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wonderful Atmosphere, great service and delicious food! I will definitely recommend this place to friends and anyone else I talk to. The Bison Meatloaf was beyond amazing and the chef even gave us the recipe for the Potato Soup!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better for Drinks”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While visiting Asheville, we decided to try Pack's Tavern. It was immediately next to the venue where we were expecting to enjoy some live entertainment, and it had some pretty good reviews.

To be fair, we arrived on a Saturday late afternoon and the place was absolutely packed. Instead of waiting for a table inside, we opted for a table on the patio. The weather wasn't cooperating (drizzle & light rain), but our intrepid waiter didn't complain at all. As a matter of fact, several other patrons opted for outside as well, so he was kept pretty busy. His demeanor remained friendly and professional.

We really did enjoy the beer (local brew), but the food was nothing to shout about. It wasn't really bad, just so-so.

Let's just say with so many restaurant options in Asheville, I wouldn't go back to Pack's for food. I would, however, go back for drinks and meeting with friends. The bar was lively and the building is interesting. I would imagine it's a terrific place to meet friends for a drink and watch a sporting event.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Rescued our last evening”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We called at Packs twice during a 4 day stay in Asheville. First time was for lunch on our first day when it was quiet... after 2pm so maybe after the rush. The drinks and food were good and the staff friendly and attentive. Second time was in the evening for a drink after a disasterous meal at the Lexington Street Brewery ( see seperate review ) when the place was packed, buzzing, live music and lots of fun. It really rescued our last evening in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueg47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Been here twice, good food both times”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I have to say its not the friendliest waitstaff, but they are quick and attentive so that's really all I need. Enjoyed my lunch both times I've been here and so did my husband. Haven't been there for the night time entertainment, but they have a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeknBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pack's Tavern also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Pack's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing