We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Little Pigs BBQ

Little Pigs BBQ
Ranked #182 of 785 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Very mediocre. Not advised for true BBQ lovers. The chopped pork was mundane, very little smoked flavor, could have been oven roasted instead of smoked or fire roasted. very ordinary, Beans were terrible, tasted like they were straight from the can. Sauce was not very good. Best thing on my plate were the Hush Puppies. They were really good. I won't be goung back
Restaurant details
Description: Very mediocre. Not advised for true BBQ lovers. The chopped pork was mundane, very little smoked flavor, could have been oven roasted instead of smoked or fire roasted. very ordinary, Beans were terrible, tasted like they were straight from the can. Sauce was not very good. Best thing on my plate were the Hush Puppies. They were really good. I won't be goung back
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Visited the restaurant for a late lunch after a trolley tour. Sampled a BBQ sandwich with slaw, BBQ sandwich without slaw, rib and chicken combo, and sides: beans, slaw, fries and hush puppies. The food was served up quickly. Chicken breast was broasted, not BBQ. No surprises there, this is called out on the menu. Ribs were tender, but very greasy and appeared to have just been cooked in sauce, and not smoked. Meat on the sandwiches came in generous portions, lacked flavor. Did not care for the slaw, it is mayo based, not vinegar and IMO, did not complement the sandwich.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    51
    26
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family owned and worthy”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The food was very good, staff very friendly and would surely return. The place is rather plain in decor but clean and accomodating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocknout_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

For anyone giving this place an average review, I grant them the forgiveness of taking this place for granted, just like I did when I lived in Asheville. But then I moved around the world, and found that Carolina BBQ is almost impossible to find. On this homecoming trip to Asheville after 30 years, I had forgotten just how good authentic Carolina BBQ really is. And this place is not just about the food, it is about the experience. From the moment you walk in, you smell the roasting pork, you see the staff scrambling to pull the pans of meat out of the pit, and you see them chop the bbq in front of you. The buns are the buttered honey bread, with the signature sauce in squeeze bottles at the table. The hushpuppies are fresh, and the fries are hot steak fries. You get the down-home, southern hospitality treatment from this little place, with the owner coming around to chat with you at your table, and a food runner occasionally dropping off a free order of fries with a "we cooked too many." The food hits that spot that can only be filled by stuffing your face with just the right amount of potato and pig. Just do it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMartinGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piedmont of NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No frills, basic food, decent value”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another trendy Q place had a huge line on Sat. night so we ended up here. Crowd at Little Pigs looked local and older, no hipsters in sight. This place is no frills, basically self service with order and pick up at counter. BBQ was chopped and slightly smokey, didn't care for thick sauces. Slaw was nondescript white slaw. Fries were hot but just basic thick cut fries. Hush puppies were crunchy on outside and moist on inside, with a hint of tang, they stood out.
Basically average food but if you are hungry and in a hurry, this is a decent option.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onamissionap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Old School Asheville BBQ”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place brings back so many memories of when my wife and I lived at nearby apartments over 30 years ago. Our memory of the food is the same. Still just good old basic BBQ. Good hushpuppies and non-descript cole slaw. basic, basic, basic, yet good and filling. It has been 10 years since we ate there but would stop by again if we are in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Pigs BBQ also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Little Pigs BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing