We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Lakeside Garden Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lakeside Garden Cottage
Lakeside Garden Cottage Enjoy full access to dock and boat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Lakeside Garden Cottage
Lakeside Garden Cottage
Enjoy full access to dock and boat
Relax in a lakeside hammock, your new happy place!
Lakeside Gardens & Koi Ponds
Comfortable and Cozy living Room
Comfortable and Cozy living Room
Bright and Sunny, Fully Equipped Eat-In Kitchen
Bright and Sunny, Fully Equipped Eat-In Kitchen
Bright and Sunny, Fully Equipped Eat-In Kitchen
Full Bedroom
Full Bedroom
lazy lakeside hammock
Queen bedrom
Bathroom
Spacious organic gardens
Help yourself to seasonal organic produce
Blue Gill and Bass
Fresh tomatoes and green beans in season
Help yourself to seasonal organic produce
Help yourself to seasonal organic produce
Help yourself to seasonal organic produce
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
648gailm
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic Stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Best of both worlds -- the lakeside neighborhood feels miles and miles away from any commercialism. Yet 5 min to mall and fast food, 10 min to the lively downtown Asheville scene. Just 10 min to get on the serene Blue Ridge Parkway and from there, many hiking trails. Lakeside cottage provides a beautiful and restful retreat. Hosts were generous with their garden produce and having a kitchen fully equipped was a great convenience.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdesoucey
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful stay, an oasis in the middle of Asheville”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a wonderful stay here. Kind hosts, a well-appointed kitchen, and close to everything Asheville has to offer. It was also a great place to stay with our 2 year old, who loved the lake and the motley crew of animals. Thank you!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCSW2014
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The property and scenic eye candy is the real treat!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is a cute, vintage, and comfy 2-bed house on a gorgeous property that includes a lake, a garden, a huge assortment of flowers and trees, and the most magical trail-walk in the backwoods. My daughter loved the swing where she jumped off into the water. The canoeing and fishing was great fun! We couldn't eat enough of the boysenberries and fresh farm eggs!! The hammock beckons you daily. This place is 5 minutes from downtown Asheville. Tama, our host, was really great. We'll be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2012
Meeting such an awesome family as yours is always a great blessing for us! We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kim M
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage in scenic setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My huaband and friend rented this cottage for our hot air balloon adventure in Asheville for 3 days. It was 5 minutes from downtown Asheville which was a big plus. It's located in an older neighborhood on Kenilworth Lake and the setting is very pretty with lots of trees and the many gardening projects of the owner Tama. The cottage itself is older but the rooms are a decemt size with hardwood floors. The one bath is small but sufficient however a towel rack would have been nice. No bath soap or hand soap was there when we arrived but when we asked for hand soap it was provided promptly. It would have been nice if it came fully stocked with paper products and we didn't have to request items such as toilet tissue. The kitchen is furnished with a mismatch of different items. No dishwasher but we didn't eat there much. The lighting was not good except in the kitchen. Bring your own light bulbs if you want to read in the living room! There was only one light bulb in the ceiling fixture in the bathroom so it was very difficult to put on makeup there. I would probably give this place 5 stars if it wasn't for the lack of paper products and lighting which we found to be very inconvenient but an easy fix. It's not the Hilton but it's a cozy place in a very pretty and convenient location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was 5 mins from downtown and was on a pretty little late in the woods. Owner Tama has herb garden, small fish pond and welcomed us to share it.
Liked least: Had to ask for toliet tissue since there was less than one roll for 3 people for 3 days! Also no bath soap or handsoap in bathroom. We didn't prepare meals there but if we had we would have to ask for more paper towels. Clock radio was so dirty!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this nice review. We will certainly see what we can do to improve the lighting. We always intend to have everything just right for our guests arrivals and are ready to respond to the needs of our guests in the event we have missed something. Happy to be kept on our toes!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglez5
Greensboro, NC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Amazing small cottage and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed July 21, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This was our first stay at this cute property and it was well worth it! The owners definitely made us feel at home by welcoming us as soon as we arrived. Tama told us to help ourselves to their garden and their beautiful property around the cottage. We loved doing the swing, rowing in the lake and exploring the beautiful trails in the woods. It's a very short drive to downtown Asheville and there are plenty of dining/shopping options right near the property. We have already talked about returning sometime in the near future because we love Asheville and this spot is perfect for us.

Tim

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing