We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING GET-AWAY!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bittersweet Cottage & Suite
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Found Bittersweet online looking for a private get-away near Asheville. Although it was pricier than I normally would spend compared to high-end hotels in downtown there was no comparison! The cottage was immaculate and comfortable. The view from the deck and hot tub were spectacular!! Stephen and Matt had the kitchen stocked with a few breakfast items, but there's a grocery at the bottom of the hill and we stocked up for the weekend...grilled steaks, had breakfast and coffee each morning on the deck overlooking Asheville and the mountains. The hot tub was a perfect spot to relax and enjoy the views as well.

The property is on site with their home, but the excellent landscaped path, waterfall, and bridge made you feel miles from anyone else!

We will definitely come back here again and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a getaway near Asheville!!

Mike & Tom
Louisville, KY

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Bittersweet Cottage & Suite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

This place was so lovely that I almost hate to review it for fear that everyone will want to stay there. The location is gorgeous, the decor is flawless. We arrived to find muffins, bananas, eggs, butter, etc. waiting on us. There's a full kitchen and grill if you feel like cooking, but mainly, you'll just want to turn on the gas fireplace and curl up on the couch with a book and a cup of tea. You can watch the fog clear over Asheville or observe the wildlife that traipses through the yard-- we saw a group of wild turkeys. Sadly, Matt said they have their place on the market. If I had 1.9 million, I'd gladly take it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite, which was more than enough room for the two of us.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bittersweet_10, Owner at Bittersweet Cottage & Suite, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2011

Thank you St. Louis! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. As to having the property on the market. It is now off the official market. Sales in Asheville are particularly flat right now so, if you are interested in staying at Bittersweet please go right ahead and make that reservation. I suspect that we will be here for quite some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

A two-night stay in The Cottage was the highlight of our tour of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Little to add to previous strong recommendations: a stunning setting above the city, yet completely secluded, and very high quality fittings throughout. We wish we had been able to stay longer – it’s the perfect combination of peaceful luxury with easy access to all the services you could need.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bittersweet Cottage over the 4th July week. The views from the private deck were magnificent, the hot tub provided endless enjoyment as we took in the view. The cottage itself was fabulous & exactly as we had hoped. Although we knew from the website that there was a small kitchen, we were pleasantly surprised at how well stocked it was...breakfast essentials were waiting for us when we checked in as well as the necessary utensils, plates, glasses etc. The location of the cottage is perfect... 6 minutes to the bottom of the mountain where drugstores and coffee shops await and another 8 and you find yourself in the heart of downtown Asheville. Although we didn't head up the mountain, we were told that within 10 minutes, the Blue Ridge Parkway can be reached. Our only complaint during our stay were the pillows on the bed. For a cottage as beautiful and luxurious as this, the pillows were lumpy and didn't provide the needed support. Although my husband was unbothered by them, my neck began to hurt from the lack of support. When we mentioned this to our hosts, they brought over a Temperpedic pillow that was fabulous and totally improved my sleep and stay. The cottage is a truly special place that we were happy to call 'home' for 5 nights. We hope to be back soon !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank styletraveler1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

I am reluctant to tell everyone about what a wonderful place this is because it'll be harder to book, but they do such a good job that everyone needs to know.

Every year in January we visit Asheville for our anniversary. It's a tech-free, low-key, eat lots of good food and buy something special for yourself sort of deal. And part of the charm and appeal of it all is Bittersweet Cottage.

We drive into town at brunch on Sunday, eat at Tupelo Honey's, grab some sea salt caramels and bubbly and then make our way up Elk Mountain to the cottage just in time for check-in. We bask in the familiarity and comfort of the place, pause to take in the beautiful view, start up the stove heater and kickback until dinnertime. We head out for dinner and then come back for caramels, bubbly and an awesome nighttime view in the hot tub. And that's just the first day!

I can't imagine starting our year any better than with good food, rest and relaxation. I highly recommend having Stephen and Matt accommodate you in doing something similar.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband, 13-year old son and I stayed at Bittersweet Cottage initially in 2008. We make it a point to return every year! The owners are fabulous...beyond gracious and certainly know what to recommend regardless of what you are there to do. Honestly, this is the kind of place where you check in and don't leave until you HAVE to. We love the cottage and take advantage of the hot tub at night. It is our most favorite vacation of the year. There is something about Asheville that just makes you relax. The view is outrageous, and if we had a second home - this would be it! Their attention to detail is right on....we love them! We cannot say enough about Bittersweet Cottage - you just have to GO!

I really like how they give you a robe and slippers. The hot tub was awesome at night.You can see the whole city and all the stars,it's amazing. I really want to go back.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank cam110297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Wonderful place to stay. We live in Asheville and often go somewhere regionally for an anniversary or birthday. Bittersweet Cottage and Suite was perfect. We stayed in the Suite which has one of the most spectacular views in the area. The space is incredibly comfortable and the owners have provided everything you might need. They also stock the kitchen with coffee and other breakfast goodies so that the first morning, while you are getting your bearings, you can sit back and enjoy the space and the surroundings. We plan to go back in warmer weather so we can walk and sit out on the beautiful deck. This is a great place to rest and restore.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
5.6 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#22 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
4.1 mi away
Asheville Swiss Chalets
Asheville Swiss Chalets
#3 of 21 in Asheville
403 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 66 in Asheville
6,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bittersweet Cottage & Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bittersweet Cottage & Suite

Address: 460 Elk Mountain Scenic Hwy, Asheville, NC 28804-1709
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on scenic Elk Mountain just ten minutes from downtown Asheville, Bittersweet Cottage & Suite is the romantic getaway you have been searching for. Combining a private and peaceful setting with commanding views of Asheville and the Blue Ridge Mountains beyond, Bittersweet offers every amenity geared to your total relaxation. Choose from our completely renovated Arts-and-Crafts style cottage, or our Asian-inspired suite - both of these one-bedroom accommodations are beautifully appointed and fully stocked for the discerning guest. If you are traveling with another couple please consider renting both cottage and suite to enjoy the best each has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bittersweet Cottage And Suite
Bittersweet Cottage Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing