We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful walk”

Botanical Gardens at Asheville
Ranked #37 of 185 things to do in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the edge of the University of North Carolina – Asheville the Botanical Gardens at Asheville were a real treat to visit. First, the Garden is located about 10 minutes from downtown Asheville which made it an easy site to visit. Second, the trail is well tended, beautiful and relaxing. If you ran it the trail is maybe 15 minutes long. If you stroll then it’s as long as you’d like. Lastly, and most important, you get to see some truly spectacular native plants in their natural habitat including a very rare Pink Lady’s-slipper orchid (Cypripedium acaule). As a matter of fact I saw FOUR with two still in bloom as well as several yellow and white lady’s slipper orchids that had finished blooming. To see them in their native habitat is rare enough. That some knucklehead had not come by and picked them is even more amazing. Some added treats include a large stone near the main stream that clearly shows the markings of its molten past and appears to be shaped like a dragon.
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful walk”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great place to relax and walk among the native grown plants of North Carolina. Best part...it is free.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    89
    29
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick walk”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Jay, who manages the place, is VERY knowledgeable and helpful. This is near/adjacent to the UNCA campus. Best is the sweet little cabin made of Chestnut wood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LucilunaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When in Asheville.. great walking trails interesting displays. Lovely gardens. Great for kids and dogs!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaymanAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Botanical Gardens at Asheville. Pretty”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Botanical Garden at Asheville is one of my favorites places in the entire world. The place is beautiful and the smell of all the flowers is a wonderful experience. This is a small garden located next to the Campus of the University of North Carolina. I love to come and enjoy the view with my sons while my grandchildren play and run everywhere. There is no other place I like more in town to go with my family to have a nice day outdoors. It is very recommended for picnics too. The best of all is that the entrance is free. But if like me you really love this place, they offer a variety of memberships that give you the chance to participate actively and it gives you also some discounts in the BGA. For example, the annual plant sale in May.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank claires262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice walk.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Doing this in the fall was ok, but really would love to see it in the spring. Love the babbling brook. Nice setting next to UNC Ashville, which happens to have a beautiful campus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Gardens at Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Botanical Gardens at Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing