We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food, great service, good for a family” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian

Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian
Ranked #8 of 775 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Formerly the Award Winning Savoy now Vinnie's. Same owner, same attention to details, quality of food and service.
New England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent food, great service, good for a family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our B&B recommended this place and even gave us a 15% off coupon. While I only gave the place an average rating, the food was ok and certainly plentiful (we brought leftovers back to the B&B for a later meal). They have different specials each night, and when we went (on a Monday), the special was any bottle of wine was half price with an entree. We ordered the lasagna and eggplant parm with a salad. Perhaps it's unfair to compare this place to all the other fine restaurants in Asheville. I think the place caters mostly to locals, and I can see why it would be a favorite of families. So, in sum, good for a relaxing family meal and do bring your appetite!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    233
    75
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sylva
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Recently enjoyed a early dinner and wonderful wine with the help of our waitress, Lauren. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable in pairing food with wine. Everything we tried was exceptional.
After awhile, the restaurant was packed and a "little loud" which was distracting from the ambience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank serenitymew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
160 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Incredible Dining Experience !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Last night was our 31st anniversary and I knew the place to go was our Italian restaurant .....
Vinnie's !!! Upon entering the restaurant, we were greeted and congratulated by the entire staff. Then came a tour of Italy .... we started with chabata bread & olive oil, followed by their
"Garbage Salad". Next came an order of fried mozarella, which was followed by our entree ....
Seafood Pescatore". We finished up with dessert, cheese cake and a cappacino for my wife, and a cannoli & Di Sarrano for me. The chef, Josh was attentive and prepared every dish like
it was on television......it looked too good to eat......but that didn't stop us from enjoying everything! Orur server, David Jones, was extremely attentive, saying how great it was, over and over, about us being married for 31 years! He was charming an an excellent server.
Overall, once again, I can't say enough about one of the finest restaurants in Asheville ....
Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian ! Eric, the owner can be very proud of his incredible staff and food!!! We love you guys !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BadNews1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHEVILLE
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

great food ...........service fair! small portions but, excellant taste,desserts wonderful. a little loud on the weekends...but, fun!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Staff- Food OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped at Vinnie's last summer after a long day in the NC mountains and were surprised and greatly pleased by how good our food was. We returned this past weekend. First of all, with regard to staff: A plus. We were advised the wait for a table was 15 minutes and it was and sitting in the bar area was a pleasure with the wonderful service and personalities of Jessica and Josh. Food: Uneven. Appetizer: Calamari with peppers was some of the best calamari we have had. Bread: very good. Main courses: I always enjoy salmon and chose the fall special with gnocchi. The gnocchi was great, the salmon was absolutely tasteless- almost as if it had been washed off and then over cooked? The ravioli: delicious as was the spaghetti and meatballs. Veal parmesan: nothing special- average. Server: Allison- great. Again while the staff was great, there did not seem to be anyone in charge or overseeing the dinning area to solicit or receive feedback or provide help. Undecided if we will return, although I would like to gamble on a best 2 out of 3?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mersejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing