We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!!!”

Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian
Ranked #8 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Formerly the Award Winning Savoy now Vinnie's. Same owner, same attention to details, quality of food and service.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We played a show in WInston Salem and were on our way back to Nashville,TN. Being on the road all of the time, we are very picky about food!!!!! When we order we normally take forever, just hoping we dont make a mistake and regret it for the next several hours on the road until our next meal. On Saturday I was in the mood for pizza/italian. I googled best pizza in Asheville,NC. Many many great things came up about Vinnie's. We decided to go and we are SOOOOO happy we did. The homemade mozarella sticks are the best I have ever ate. The marinara was impeccable. The "meat" pizza was marvelous, I added mushrooms to my side :)-. The entire staff greeted us when we arrived and when we left. The owner came by our table when dinner was finished and chatted with us. Everything about this place screamed " hard work". It was nice to go somewhere that was not a franchise for once in awhile. WE will be back again on our next trip through Asheville!!! P.S. The owner gave us a bottle of Marinara.. Thank you Vinnie's for giving us something to brag about in Nashville. - See you soon, Starving Musicians.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asdaughtry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    238
    77
    34
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food Friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went to see the Biltmore and stayed the night just outside of the city. Had no idea where to eat dinner, but knew that Asheville is known for being a great foodie town. We were in the mood for Italian and stumbled on Vinnie's. The parking lot was full when we arrived (around 7:00). My husband said, 'well it looks like you picked a good place'. Boy was he right! We waited about a half hour at the small but friendly bar (staff & locals). The food was very good. Portions were good size and very tasty. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The owner was in the restaurant checking with everyone to make sure everything was alright. We loved the place and will go back the next time we are in Asheville.

Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go anywhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We are locals. Had avoided Vinnie's because the pretentiousness and over priced menu of Sayoy (their previous restaurant) left a bad taste our mouths. But we had a free dinner due to our WNC card so we gave it a try. Lights were like spotlights, music was way loud and food could not compare to any Italian chain. Veal piccata and marsala tasted just about the same except for the mushrooms. Bread was half stale and fresh and vegetables were overdone and hidden with lots of garlic. The teenagers running the restaurant were friendly and upbeat, but clearly there is no one with pride or concern running this restaurant. Run, don't walk to the many other wonderful restaurants in Asheville. We won't be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandm00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
184 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Italiano in the Smokies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Liked- The food was excellent and quantity was large. The servers were happy, efficient and attentive. Every serve that we passed on the way out smiled and told us good-bye. I never had that at any other restaurant.
Disliked - It is too far to drive for a Saturday night meal, :-(

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TnPete_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stopped at Vinnie's for dinner one of our nights in Asheville. Busy place, but we were seated pretty quick. We had lasagna which was fantastic! Staff was friendly, service was great!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Vinnie's Neighborhood Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing