We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$187
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Asheville(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$251
$234
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residences at Biltmore(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Asheville - Biltmore West(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Biltmore Village(Asheville)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Omni Grove Park Inn(Asheville)
$444
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
49
48
7
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
48
7
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree earplugsquiet hoursshower arealight sleeperbunk roomspacious kitchenprivacy curtainsnight owlexperience stayingkey cardfantastic locationparking garagelate at nightsinksbrewerynoisevaluables
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 126 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights as was visiting a friend in the area. Great location- everything to see/do is very close by! Very, very clean- you can tell whoever runs this hostel takes pride in its appearance. It could get slightly noisy at night from the bar next door- this didn't really bother me as I was out most of the time but as the rooms were open plan from the kitchen you could hear everyone in the morning getting up. The only 1 negative was one of the ladies on reception could be pretty rude and unfriendly at times, other than that great hostel and would return!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I decided to step outside my comfort zone a bit and try something new. The Sweet Peas Hostel was my first foray into the hostel experience. A short walk to local fare. An easy bike ride to anywhere, pubs and eateries abound. I liked it and particularly liked the staff. They weren't shocked by the guy with grey hair showing up at there door step. You can listen and learn some interesting stories by the people that travel via Hostel. Hotels are boring, hostels are hot! In my opinion, you should try a Hostel for the experience alone.

Oh and by-the-way, I see from other reviews that some people gave sweet peas a single " * ". I have no idea where these people were staying but it wasn't sweet peas. Come on, it's a hostel, it's not the Ritz.

Room Tip: Get a pod for sure.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

They are upfront with how noisy it is, so it is hard to complain about that. The hum and vibration of the nightlife from downstairs ends around 2 am. (I felt like I was sitting on the engine of a large ship or airplane--that kind of noise.) But if anyone is up and about in the hostel, you will hear that as well. The wood floors and layout provide no chance for quiet or a good night of sleep.

But, if you don't mind that, this is a very clean and safe place, cheap--right in the heart of downtown Asheville. The room where the showers are is co-ed, but each stall is private and locks. Separate bathrooms for male/female. I did not have to wait for a bathroom or shower. They offer bunk rooms, private pods or private rooms. I was in a private room and appreciated having my own sink and mirror in the room. Private rooms do not have any windows, so they are very dark. I believe the bunk rooms have a lot of natural light in them and one set of bunks faces windows--so depending upon your preference, you may want to ask about that when you are making a reservation.

The "23 Rankin Ave" address put in your GPS should lead you right to it. Parking is directly across the street and affordable for a downtown location. You will need to drive if you are going to Biltmore Estate, but can walk anywhere else. When you first arrive, there is a call button. They will buzz you in. Walk in and follow the hall all the way to the end. Door on right leads you to the desk. After check in, you will have a key card to get in and out. No curfews.

The lady at the desk was nice and friendly. There is someone on staff at all times--if they aren't at the desk you can knock on their door if there is a problem. Nice laundry facility and kitchen facilities--fully stocked. Again, everything very clean.

There were extra blankets set out by the laundry room. I would recommend grabbing one--it gets chilly at night. Plenty of outlets for charging your electronics.

Very lovely place, nicely decorated. This was my first experience with a hostel and it wasn't bad. I much prefer luxury, but if it isn't in the budget, this is a nice alternative.

Check out by 11:30. They provide a laundry bag for you to place your linens and towels in. Leave that by the laundry room on your way out. There is a drop box to leave your key.

Room Tip: Two people can share a private room--may be cheaper than two bunks. BOOK EARLY.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momsterof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very disappointed with the customer service while trying to make reservation. Was told to call back at a specific date since they don't take reservations many months ahead. Called back to confirm this in coming up to the time. The website clearly states (as of right now) that reservations don't open up until 10am. Once I was able to reach the front desk after 10am, I was informed that they had been taking reservations since 9am and were nearly sold out. Voicing my complaint the woman said she "had no time" to deal with my issue. I might not be able to make my trip now since most of the area is booked up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank bjswing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at Sweet Peas for 3 nights in mid June with some girlfriends. We all had pods and those are definitely nicer than staying in a bunk. The place is very clean. The showers are shared by both men and women, but you have a locked private area to shower in.
What other reviewers say about noise is very true. The bar downstairs is loud and the earplugs only semi-work to cancel out the noise. Also, we had a guy in another pod that snored so loudly, the whole place was kept up. That was the only annoying thing about the trip. If you snore that loud and you know it, you might want to book a hotel room or have a bunch of cranky travelers to deal with the next morning.
If you like the bar scene, this is the perfect place to go. You don't spend a lot of money per night and it's right in the middle of downtown so leave your car and walk everywhere! It was a nice stay and great for on the cheap!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a pod
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews