We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
49
48
7
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
48
7
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree earplugsquiet hoursshower arealight sleeperbunk roomspacious kitchenprivacy curtainsnight owlexperience stayingkey cardfantastic locationparking garagelate at nightsinksbrewerynoisevaluables
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 126 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Well, I'm a little torn on this one. The hostel is very modern and clean, safe and in a great spot downtown, and the staff are friendly. BUT I stayed there on a Saturday night and couldn't sleep because of the loud music from down below. I saw the reviews complaining about this before I went but figured I could handle it. Wrong. The ear plugs did nothing to dull the sound but even if they helped, it would have been impossible to ignore my bed vibrating along with the bass. When the club downstairs finally closed at 2am, things got a little better, but then I realized that the hostel manager was watching a movie in his room which came through the wall loud and clear. I ended up not falling asleep until around 4. If you plan to be out partying until 3 am, this is the place for you. Or, if the bar happens to be closed for some reason, that might work too. Otherwise, I'd check out other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

smart folks will avoid Sweet Pea's. There is a bar downstairs owned by the guy that owns sweet pea's that blasts music literally all night and day. just terrible. didn't sleep a wink. the price for a bunk is $30/night, and there is a full-function kitchen. the location is excellent. The facilities are all very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hostel really is perfect for those that plan to go out drinking every night of your stay. However, if you plan to go to sleep anytime before 2:30 AM you shouldn't even consider this hostel. Sweet Peas is located right above the L.A.B. brewery, and the live bands that play there can get really loud. I have stayed in hostels all over the world and this is the most modern I have seen. The kitchen and common areas really are nice. I recommend that you spend the extra money and get a pod. They really are worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hostel is right in the heart of Asheville, meaning it is really convenient to see everything. The staff were helpful and friendly and knew the entertainment options in the area well. The dorms were well equipped and the open plan area was very light and airy - with a very well stocked modern kitchen.

Wifi was free, as was fruit and locker storage. I thought the bumper stickers were a nice touch!

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is so clean and unique! The staff was super friendly and helpful! But to stay here you need to be comfortable with using earplugs while you sleep, the bar under the hostel gets very loud. But for a group of friends traveling or a couple who are able to handle the noise at night you can't beat the deal this place offers!

Room Tip: The private bunks looked really nice. I stayed in one of the open dorm rooms and that was great too :)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews