We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Sweet Peas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Peas Hostel
Nasushiobara-shi, Tochigi, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hostel really is perfect for those that plan to go out drinking every night of your stay. However, if you plan to go to sleep anytime before 2:30 AM you shouldn't even consider this hostel. Sweet Peas is located right above the L.A.B. brewery, and the live bands that play there can get really loud. I have stayed in hostels all over the world and this is the most modern I have seen. The kitchen and common areas really are nice. I recommend that you spend the extra money and get a pod. They really are worth the extra money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    8
    12
    10
See reviews for
8
18
53
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hostel is right in the heart of Asheville, meaning it is really convenient to see everything. The staff were helpful and friendly and knew the entertainment options in the area well. The dorms were well equipped and the open plan area was very light and airy - with a very well stocked modern kitchen.

Wifi was free, as was fruit and locker storage. I thought the bumper stickers were a nice touch!

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed2369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is so clean and unique! The staff was super friendly and helpful! But to stay here you need to be comfortable with using earplugs while you sleep, the bar under the hostel gets very loud. But for a group of friends traveling or a couple who are able to handle the noise at night you can't beat the deal this place offers!

Room Tip: The private bunks looked really nice. I stayed in one of the open dorm rooms and that was great too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This was the first time I stayed at a hostel. It was very clean. The other people were a pleasure to talk with. The manager is super nice once you take the time to talk to her. She comes off as grouchy but once you talk her she's super friendly! I didn't run into any noise issues. I stayed there on a Sunday night, I was out till about 3am so when I came back everyone was quietly sleeping. I booked a private room. They have no windows, only the door, bed, a little shelf with clothes hooks, a sink, mirror, wooden chair, and a small nightstand. The bathrooms and shower rooms are coed. All in all it's a great place to stay its in a perfect location for the night owl like me. I will return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tmocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is new, clean and located within walking distance of anything in downtown Asheville. Service was professional, but not friendly as you might expect from a hostel. During the day, the living area is a nice quiet place to hang out.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, don't bunk in the dorms. The sun comes in the windows pretty early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes all the other reviewers are right. This hostel is VERY clean. This hostel is VERY loud at night. This hostel is in a great location. AND I won't stay anywhere else from now on!

What you might night have already read is:

Finding the hostel can be a little tricky as Rankin Avenue is more like an alley way, though it is DIRECTLY across from the parking deck. You'll be buzzed in when you arrive and given an electronic key to access the front door. If you book a standard bunk you'll be given a combination for a combination lock on your locker. If you book a pod you'll be given a key to open a large cubby. I personally wouldn't book the standard bunk as you have no way of blocking the light or noise from the rest of the hostel. The pods at least give you some measure of privacy. I was on a top pod and got pretty cold as I was right under the vent but once I got an extra blanket it was much better. I was told from some girls staying in the bunks next to the laundry area that the employees started the laundry early and it sounded like a rainstorm. The pillow that I had was a bit flat but that wasn't a problem as I always bring my own.

The living area has a nice sofa and some chairs with a flat screen TV. There are a number of books and DVDs to enjoy as well as some board games. The eating area is family style with a couple of long tables in the central area of the hostel. The kitchen area is small but very serviceable. They even have a countertop ice maker tucked away next to the stove (It didn't make much noise). There is tea and coffee available and they keep a tap water jug in the fridge to fill up your water bottle with cold water. There is tape and pens to mark food as either belonging to someone or "free". When I was there, there was some "free" fruit, cereal, and condiments. Because the kitchen is so small and tight, you really won't be able to get a group of people all together making dinner and why would you, it's Asheville, with all of the wonderful restaurants within walking distance.

The woman's bathroom only has three stalls BUT when I was there the hostel was sold out and I never had to wait to use the facilities. The bathroom is separate from the shower area. The showers are communal but don't let that bother you. Each Shower stall opens with a large heavy door with three hooks on the back. You enter into a little changing area with a rolling cart to lay your things on, then the shower stall itself is large with some nooks to put your supplies on. Each one is very well lit with dedicated lighting directly above each stall. They only give you one towel and washcloth at check in so if you need an extra be sure to ask for one.

There is a single computer for guest use but with wifi most people used their own devices.

The people staying at the hostel while I was there were an eclectic mix of Americans and Europeans ranging in age from 12 to 70 something. Everyone seemed very nice and tried to be respectful of everyone else staying there.

At the end of the stay you will be asked to strip your bed and put your sheets, pillow, and towel into a canvas bag and drop them off by the laundry room. This is fairly standard at many hostels.

This is a wonderful place to stay if you know what to expect and are prepared for the experience. It is a lot like staying in a college dorm but with, hopefully, a more mature set of folks. If you are uncomfortable sharing space with strangers and if you need total silence and darkness to sleep then this isn't the place for you. However if you appreciate meeting new people, are flexible with sharing your space, and can tune out muffled noise with the aid of ear plugs then this is a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pod by the windows to get the most privacy and noise reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyZady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Sweet Peas makes a strong first impression. It is a bright, new, clean, purpose-built hostel that is very efficiently laid out. The staff is professional and friendly. The rules are non-nonsense and easy to follow. It is located right in the middle of the Asheville party scene, but after a night's stay you realize that is not such a good thing. It is one floor above one of the town's loudest bars and the noise comes surging upward through the early morning hours. And, most of the guests are dedicated bar hoppers and so they are stumbling in gracelessly at all hours. The doorless dorms want a bit for privacy. The guest tend to eat out and so the kitchen is outfitted a bit sparsely, and there are no reasonably priced groceries nearby. You will get used to this if you are there a few days, but will find yourself longing for the funky, out of the mainstream, rough around the edges kind of hostel that has a more meaty feel for today's world traveler.

Room Tip: If you require a bit of privacy, ask for a "Pod," essentially a bunk bed with curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Further_to_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
743 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#18 of 66 in Asheville
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
244 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Peas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Peas Hostel

Property: Sweet Peas Hostel
Address: 23 Rankin Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a newly renovate historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville. We are a European style hostel and a great alternative to a hotel for travelers on a budget. Our beds start at $32 per night and we are clean and comfortable with friendly knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Peas Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing