We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Sweet Peas Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asheville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Peas Hostel
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was the first time I stayed at a hostel. It was very clean. The other people were a pleasure to talk with. The manager is super nice once you take the time to talk to her. She comes off as grouchy but once you talk her she's super friendly! I didn't run into any noise issues. I stayed there on a Sunday night, I was out till about 3am so when I came back everyone was quietly sleeping. I booked a private room. They have no windows, only the door, bed, a little shelf with clothes hooks, a sink, mirror, wooden chair, and a small nightstand. The bathrooms and shower rooms are coed. All in all it's a great place to stay its in a perfect location for the night owl like me. I will return.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Tmocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is new, clean and located within walking distance of anything in downtown Asheville. Service was professional, but not friendly as you might expect from a hostel. During the day, the living area is a nice quiet place to hang out.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, don't bunk in the dorms. The sun comes in the windows pretty early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Yes all the other reviewers are right. This hostel is VERY clean. This hostel is VERY loud at night. This hostel is in a great location. AND I won't stay anywhere else from now on!

What you might night have already read is:

Finding the hostel can be a little tricky as Rankin Avenue is more like an alley way, though it is DIRECTLY across from the parking deck. You'll be buzzed in when you arrive and given an electronic key to access the front door. If you book a standard bunk you'll be given a combination for a combination lock on your locker. If you book a pod you'll be given a key to open a large cubby. I personally wouldn't book the standard bunk as you have no way of blocking the light or noise from the rest of the hostel. The pods at least give you some measure of privacy. I was on a top pod and got pretty cold as I was right under the vent but once I got an extra blanket it was much better. I was told from some girls staying in the bunks next to the laundry area that the employees started the laundry early and it sounded like a rainstorm. The pillow that I had was a bit flat but that wasn't a problem as I always bring my own.

The living area has a nice sofa and some chairs with a flat screen TV. There are a number of books and DVDs to enjoy as well as some board games. The eating area is family style with a couple of long tables in the central area of the hostel. The kitchen area is small but very serviceable. They even have a countertop ice maker tucked away next to the stove (It didn't make much noise). There is tea and coffee available and they keep a tap water jug in the fridge to fill up your water bottle with cold water. There is tape and pens to mark food as either belonging to someone or "free". When I was there, there was some "free" fruit, cereal, and condiments. Because the kitchen is so small and tight, you really won't be able to get a group of people all together making dinner and why would you, it's Asheville, with all of the wonderful restaurants within walking distance.

The woman's bathroom only has three stalls BUT when I was there the hostel was sold out and I never had to wait to use the facilities. The bathroom is separate from the shower area. The showers are communal but don't let that bother you. Each Shower stall opens with a large heavy door with three hooks on the back. You enter into a little changing area with a rolling cart to lay your things on, then the shower stall itself is large with some nooks to put your supplies on. Each one is very well lit with dedicated lighting directly above each stall. They only give you one towel and washcloth at check in so if you need an extra be sure to ask for one.

There is a single computer for guest use but with wifi most people used their own devices.

The people staying at the hostel while I was there were an eclectic mix of Americans and Europeans ranging in age from 12 to 70 something. Everyone seemed very nice and tried to be respectful of everyone else staying there.

At the end of the stay you will be asked to strip your bed and put your sheets, pillow, and towel into a canvas bag and drop them off by the laundry room. This is fairly standard at many hostels.

This is a wonderful place to stay if you know what to expect and are prepared for the experience. It is a lot like staying in a college dorm but with, hopefully, a more mature set of folks. If you are uncomfortable sharing space with strangers and if you need total silence and darkness to sleep then this isn't the place for you. However if you appreciate meeting new people, are flexible with sharing your space, and can tune out muffled noise with the aid of ear plugs then this is a fabulous place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pod by the windows to get the most privacy and noise reduction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LadyZady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Sweet Peas makes a strong first impression. It is a bright, new, clean, purpose-built hostel that is very efficiently laid out. The staff is professional and friendly. The rules are non-nonsense and easy to follow. It is located right in the middle of the Asheville party scene, but after a night's stay you realize that is not such a good thing. It is one floor above one of the town's loudest bars and the noise comes surging upward through the early morning hours. And, most of the guests are dedicated bar hoppers and so they are stumbling in gracelessly at all hours. The doorless dorms want a bit for privacy. The guest tend to eat out and so the kitchen is outfitted a bit sparsely, and there are no reasonably priced groceries nearby. You will get used to this if you are there a few days, but will find yourself longing for the funky, out of the mainstream, rough around the edges kind of hostel that has a more meaty feel for today's world traveler.

Room Tip: If you require a bit of privacy, ask for a "Pod," essentially a bunk bed with curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Further_to_Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Loved staying the the Sweet Pea! It is one of the nicest (if not the nicest) hostel I have stayed in. The general feel/decor reminds me of a modern coffee shop, and the layout is great. My brother and I stayed in the pods and did not find them lacking - very comfortable, and the shelving/light/privacy curtain were a nice touch. Beats staying in a metal bunkbed that squeaks every time you roll over ;) The layout of the hostel is very open - the areas with the pods and bunks are connected to the main sitting/dining area so you will be spared the creepy hallway and close quarters that come with some hostel arrangements. Showers and bathroom are also super clean and modern. I do have to agree that it can be loud due to the live music downstairs, but they do have a bowl of earplugs at the front that you can help yourself to ;) Can't beat the price and location either.

Room Tip: Go for the pods over the bunks. Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My only complaint about this hostel is that the staff does not inform you when you make a reservation that you'll have to deal with a lot of noise at night (there is an exceptionally loud bar downstairs). They should tell people this upfront, because it's obviously a big deal for some guests. They do provide free earplugs, which worked just fine for me (I slept really well) but it's something they should tell guests about prior to their arrival.

Aside from that, this place is FANTASTIC! I would recommend it to anyone. I stayed in a pod for two nights and was very, very pleased. The hostel is almost spotless (and I looked hard). Towels and washcloths are included with the linens. The decor and layout are nice. It's right across the street from a parking garage. It's centrally-located. The staff was friendly and helpful. With earplugs (and advance notice of the noise problem), it's a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hostel is reasonably priced and very, very clean. Staff is helpful and there is a lot information on local restaurants and activities. My friend and I each stayed in "Pods" which are almost like sleeping berths on a train. Each pod comes with it's own locker, electrical outlet, and light. You draw a curtain for privacy. The hostel also has dorms with conventional bunk beds in them and a few private rooms.

I will agree that if you are a light sleeper, you may have some issues as the hostel is located over the Lexington Avenue Brewery which does have live music on some nights. The noise seems to be the loudest in the private rooms and the areas towards the entrance side of the hostel (this area is above the music area of the brewery below). Our pods were located closer to the windows/street side of the hostel. Try to get this area if you are sensitive to noise. The hostel does provide earplugs which my friend (who wakes up at the slightest noise, light, temperature change) stated were very effective and she slept soundly the entire night.

Room Tip: Try to get a "pod" closer to the windows. You won't be above the stage area of the mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DphRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
761 reviews
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
265 reviews
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
#37 of 66 in Asheville
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Peas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Peas Hostel

Address: 23 Rankin Ave, Asheville, NC 28801
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Asheville
Price Range: $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a newly renovate historic building in the heart of downtown Asheville. We are a European style hostel and a great alternative to a hotel for travelers on a budget. Our beds start at $32 per night and we are clean and comfortable with friendly knowledgeable staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Peas Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing