We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The cottage alone might be worth the trip to...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
King size, Sleep Number, music bed in the Laurel Cottage
King size, Sleep Number, music bed in the Rosewood Cottage
Snack basket with desert
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
heather m
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The cottage alone might be worth the trip to Asheville.”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the Aspen cottage for a week and loved every minute of it. I even skipped some much anticipated morning plans because I was never in a hurry to leave the cottage. I found it luxurious and meticulously clean. While beautifully decorated it was also completely comfortable. I appreciated the various written instructions left for things like the hot tub and remote controls. The kitchen was stocked with frequently needed equipment as well as the complimentary snacks and drinks. I also appreciated not having to carry a key. I cannot recommend this cottages highly enough. I hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sleep number mattress, the heated tile bathroom floor and heated toilet seat.
Liked least: Slightly less than bright lights in the bathroom.
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onthegoro...
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We've stayed in many others but Asheville Cottages are THE BEST!”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband's job requires a lot of travel. In addition, we've been married 33 years and have done extensive travel in the States, Caribbean, Virgin Islands, and Mexico. We've traveled in a great variety of ways: camping, cruises, resorts, five-star hotels, private rentals, bed and breakfasts...you name it, we've stayed the whole spectrum. (Well, we've never spent the night on a train but we may in the future)!

It is with great delight to say Asheville Cottages was the best accommodation we've ever experienced! Right off we were so welcomed by the style of the cottage. For us, nothing spells "home" like craftsman architecture. Simple yet warm, vintage-like yet modern. The owners have thought of the many ways to make guests comfortable; Sleep Number mattress, soft linens, heated floors & towel warmers, DirecTv channels, snacks on the counter & drinks in the fridge, leather recliner for hubby, electric-start gas fireplace, clear directions on how to use everything, comfortable robes, games, books, ... the list goes on and on. My husband even took a great interest in the reading lamps attached to the headboard of the bed. Not finding a similar style online, he contacted the cottage's owner who promptly sent him a link and information so we can order our own lamps for home! Talk about hospitality!

Nestled in a woodsy setting, the views and privacy of this cottage were greatly appreciated. I spent one morning in one of the rocking chairs on the front porch, reading, sipping coffee and being entertained by the playful squirrels in the yards. Hubby and I spent the cool evenings enjoying the hot tub on the back porch.

Asheville Cottages are surprisingly near town but feel like a world away from the hustle and bustle. It is about a 10-20 minute drive to the downtown area and Biltmore. If we return to Asheville in the future, we will surely stay at this property again. All of our future accommodations, wherever they may be, will always be measured against this sweet cottage. Treat yourself...stay at Asheville Cottages if you can!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia C
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitors Are Still Awed”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We originally booked Asheville Cottages based on the website’s photos and excellent reviews. To appreciate the full impact, one must see them in person. We remain astounded by the level of detail and care that has gone into making ones’ visit a truly luxurious experience. You are wowed by every aspect of the cottage…the building materials and amenities, a kitchen stocked with any cooking utensil you might need, snacks upon your arrival, luxury bath and bed linens, a distinct feeling of privacy despite the adjoining unit, and an awesome assortment of tourist information. The cottages are close to several forests, artists’ studios and galleries, all your shopping needs (high end, outlet, and grocery), the Biltmore, great restaurants, and more. This has become our “go-to” long weekend vacation destination. It is wonderful and relaxing whether we take in a lot of sites or just a few.

I have a severe allergy to fragrances. Upon notifying Tracie she asked “what detergent should be used to wash the bath and bed linen”. My request for a fragrance–free detergent and fabric softener, was honored and greatly appreciated. Other products with fragrances were also removed. Out of an abundance of caution, I always travel with an air cleaner. I am pleased to report that I never need to turn it on.

We have stayed at the Laurel twice and most recently at the Dogwood. We are already booked for a return visit. This time we will stay at that the Rosewood. There is no doubt in my mind that our stay will be absolutely wonderful!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie G
Chapin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clothing Optional”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The only reason I titled it as "clothing optional" is that is ALL you need! The owners have taken care of everything else! We stayed in The Laurel for a mini vacation and it was just what we needed. We had our on little private spa like setting with all of the attention to details. The owners are extremely nice! Details: Coffee, Juice, Muffins, CHOCOLATE, bedsheets to die for, gas logs, hot tub (robes), select comfort mattresses, grill, satellite TV, and oh, did I mention CHOCOLATE? The Laurel is not rustic and not high up on a mountain slope so if you are looking for view and a mountain like setting; this isn't it. HOWEVER, if you want quiet, romance and convenience to Downtown Asheville, Biltmore and the Soon To Be Opened Asheville Outlets - this is your place! Thanks, Marshall and Tracie for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: No Snow and No Pets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acg454
Bristol, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The new standard for us when visiting Asheville!”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Oh my...where to begin! My husband and I came down to celebrate our 12th wedding anniversary at The Laural Cottage and I cant even gush enough about this place or the owners. They have thought of everything to make this the most comfortable place for their guests! From the hot tub which was so wonderful and clean, to the sleep number bed...and don't even get me started on those spa sheets that they have on the bed...it made me sad to have to leave and come home to our bed knowing we were giving up those sheets! The location was good too, at first we were hesitant because as yearly visitors to Asheville we have never stayed more than 5 or 10 minutes from downtown, but when we got there the drive to downtown Asheville was exactly 15 minutes from the cottage and we barely even noticed because it was such an easy drive, it was in a residential neighborhood but a really quite one so it was just the best of both worlds, we felt like we had the privacy we wanted but were still close enough to all our favorite downtown spots that it was PERFECT! The owners called to check on us to see how our stay was going and you can just tell how much they care about their guests and they have gone above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect! They have all kinds of little extras around like a snack bowl with coffee, tea and because it was our anniversary they left a bottle of sparkling cider and some chocolates! We will be back for sure! The best vacation we have had in Asheville so far! Thank you thank you thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, bed and sheets
Liked least: The direct tv got overheated bc of the fireplace but other than that PERFECT
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet P
Arlington, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Homey”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Cabins were clean, modern and pretty well appointed. The owners are very "hands on" and available. We stayed in a one bedroom which was fine for the two of us. My favorite features were the heated bathroom floors and the hot tub on our personal screened in porch. It is very close to the North Carolina Arboretum and the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is about 15-20 minutes from the Biltmore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonya W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Asheville Vacation Cottage”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was immaculate! Everything we needed was there except for dinner. There were snacks, oatmeal, drinks, and even extra batteries and light bulbs too. The owners really have thought of everything. We celebrated our 15th anniversary in the Dogwood and walked in to see a bottle of sparkling cider on the table with a handwritten note. Even the lady that cleaned the cottage left us a handwritten note. All the detailed instructions on how to use the hot tub and tv remotes were extra special touches. I love the heated towel rack and heated bathroom floor. We'll be back next year and will stay longer for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing - everything was wonderful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing