We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique evening with the family”

Ghost Hunters of Asheville
Ranked #29 of 62 Tours in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three separate 90-minute ghost tours cover different aspects of historical, haunted Asheville. The exclusive interactive downtown tour features use of ghost-hunting equipment. Historical Montford’s architectural beauty and stunning landscapes serve as backdrop for hunting ghostly specters. Riverside Cemetery beckons to those who dare enter and commingle with the ghosts of eras past.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique evening with the family”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the type of fun everyone should seek when on a family vacation. In between touring the Biltmore, enjoying Asheville's delicious food and craft brews, breathing in the mountain air, and shopping for art in this amazingly creative town, this tour was a unique way to "get the lay of the land" in the downtown area. Our very patient guide handled our pre-teen skeptic's nervous comments with the same aplomb with which she analyzed digital photos taken by the serious "hunters" in our group. A wonderful way to see and appreciate the art deco architecture throughout this always surprising and mysterious, mountain town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We consider one of the most important things we do is to create memorable and fun family time. It was our pleasure to do this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    25
    8
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WHAT A WASTE OF TIME & MONEY”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

On their website, Ghost Hunters of Asheville boasts that they give you EMF Detectors and other tools and make you think that you will be going on a "real" Ghost Hunt. This was just one big joke! Yes, they give you tools, but the "Ghost Hunt" was really just a night walking tour of a few city blocks. The guide tells you about supposed "deaths" that happened at various locations as you walk around. It was basically "story time" as you go on a walk at night. Don't waste your time or your money on this one!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Siennastef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
While your review history reveals you don't easily give good reviews, we are still sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We try to facilitate guests having increased knowledge of the paranormal, using ghost-hunting equipment and obtaining paranormal photographs. People get out of experiences what they bring to them, but it is perhaps truer with our tour. Open-mindedness, keen attention, and active participation help with results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a way to spend our anniversary”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Me and my wife really enjoyed our Ghost hunt w/ Deb Maddox. She is thorough, equipped and very engaging. Hunting ghosts is something we (as African-American people) do NOT do; nevertheless, Deb made the experience worthwhile and my wife and I now have one more memory to add to our album.

The saddest part of the event was hearing about its history and so many people, during extremely difficult times, taking their own lives when they felt so helpless and alone. I have learned that in the absolute worst case scenarios, life is still worth the living.

Peace...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mrob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We didn't know it was your anniversary! It was a privilege -- and a whole lot of fun -- spending it with you. Congrats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Ghost Tour!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went on the Montford ghost tour this past weekend and it was wonderful. The tour guide answered questions, orbs and mists were caught in pictures and lots of history was learned about that area. I really enjoyed it, the guide brings pictures from past gusts and historical photos to show during the tour. I highly recommend this tour-it's great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank allison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
You were a great guest, Allison. I've also appreciated your contributions on our facebook page. Glad you've joined us. We'll keep trying to inform and educate with great photos along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Fun night!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

As an Asheville native, I had seen these tours walking around for a while now. Go glad I got to finally participate and learn a great deal about my hometown! The guide was knowledgeable about the homes along Montford Ave and down Zillicoa and who knew that such a small area could have so much spooky history!!! Great tour and can't wait to try the downtown tour!! I highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Hunters of Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ghost Hunters of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing