We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to see town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghost Hunters of Asheville

Ghost Hunters of Asheville
Ranked #22 of 61 Tours in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three separate 90-minute ghost tours cover different aspects of historical, haunted Asheville. The exclusive interactive downtown tour features use of ghost-hunting equipment. Historical Montford’s architectural beauty and stunning landscapes serve as backdrop for hunting ghostly specters. Riverside Cemetery beckons to those who dare enter and commingle with the ghosts of eras past.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun way to see town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our guide did a great job of doing a ghost tour with a comic twist. Lot's of fun on a nice night.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    24
    8
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun, but no "ghosts"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice walking tour of Asheville. We did get some pictures of "orbs", but it could have been dust...who knows? The tour was somewhat interesting - guide pointed out some interesting facts, but mispronounced local restaurant names and had a couple of historical facts in there that were, indeed, not true. For some reason, even though we called and made a reservation, that never came through. If you use a Groupon, be certain to re-confirm.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshevilleTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unprofessional Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I called about a ghost tour on our honeymoon and the company said they would need our credit card to reserve a spot (I would not advise giving your information over the phone with these people). Upon our arrival we called ghost hunters of Asheville, and were told that we were given the wrong address and we would need to walk to the new ghost tour location IN A THUNDERSTORM, but when arrived there was no one there. We later found out they would charge our card without our consent, and they would not give our money back. When calling back to complain about the unauthorized charge, we were told never to call back or they would press charges.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank mdwebster03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghostlady2, Owner at Ghost Hunters of Asheville, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We knew this was coming...! We've only had 2 outrageous customers in 4 years, but they always head straight to TripAdvisor!! The hotel claims they gave this couple directions, and when I tried to give directions on their initial call, they interrupted saying they knew where to go. The last sentence ever said to someone is: "If you have any questions or problems, just give us a call at this number." At 9:01, the wife called and said they didn't want to go anymore. Would they have to pay for it? When I replied yes, she said, "I thought so." We have only a one hour cancellation policy. When I asked her why she hadn't called before, she said she didn't know. Her husband called us back four times -- screaming, calling us names, and using 4-letter words. I asked him to please stop shouting so we could discuss it. His reply: "Not until you start being reasonable." 1. It's difficult to discuss resolution when someone is constantly yelling and swearing. 2. You're not as willing to bend over backwards for someone who has gone beyond bullying you and entered into the realm of verbal abuse. 3. You can't call any event to cancel after it has started. No one can run a business this way. 4. All businesses take credit card reservations to ensure folks will show up or call to cancel. We had given these people a special rate because it was their honeymoon. It is extremely unfortunate their trip was marred by this, but with our one-hour cancellation, we are offering people the most flexibility we can and just need them to show a bit of responsibility to us too. -- Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I took this tour and it was so fun! The tour guide, Deb was exceptionally knowledgeable about the area, homes and people that lived there now and earlier in time. We did not catch to much action but a girl on our group did catch some things on her camera but just listening to the history was very interesting. The houses themselves are something to look at. I would highly recommend this tour!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very cool. Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

What made this tour stand out from the dozen or so other ghost tours we have enjoyed is that our guide Todd was not only an expert in his local history and architecture but he brought along equipment for us to use to "ghost hunt" ourselves. It was so much fun to see the instruments reacting while they were in your own hands!! Great stories and facts, beautiful city, and personable guide. Very worthwhile.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Hunters of Asheville also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Ghost Hunters of Asheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing