We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wine, and location”
Review of Posana

Posana
Ranked #23 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton
Description: With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant's warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can't wait to serve you.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, wine, and location”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place had fantastic service, food, and spirits! Great for a group or for a nice date night! Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaFossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    200
    68
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful dinner”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This "cafe" was a great discovery! Reasonably priced, locally sourced food, good cocktails, and organic wines all combined for an outstanding experience. We did not feel hurried yet were in and out in less than an hour and a half.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Lobster mac and cheese, scallops, cheesecake, drinks, waitstaff and ambiance were great! Wouldn't have changed a thing about my entire experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Do not miss their brunch”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First, you can actually make a reservation for brunch...this is a good thing! I recommend doing this because the line for a table gets pretty crazy after 11:30AM. Having had brunch here twice now, I can attest to the quality always being superb. The service is lovely. The brunch selection a nice balance. I love the Southern Style Benedict. It is simply delicious...and do get the grits...they are so creamy. The Braised Brisket Sandwich is divine, with a perfect hint of horseradish. If you go when the weather is warm, sit outside because the people watching is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good but geared toward meat eaters”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I were in Asheville for six nights celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. We ate at all of the vegetarian restaurants of which we had knowledge (Laughing Seed, Plant, Rosetta's itchen and Homegrown). We're not pure vegetarian but prefer eating that way, in addition to some seafood and poultry dishes - absolutely no red meat period. No knock on those who do eat meat (the majority of people), it's just not our thing. Posana was up-scale enough to choose as our actual anniversary night restaurant, to dress up a bit and celebrate. Posana was billed as vegetarian-friendly and even (somehow) is listed under "vegetarian" in the Asheville visitor center official website. We expected more options: There are a couple of interesting salads and starters but as for regular hot dinner entrees, there is exactly one (1) on the menu - which I ordered, a delicious tofu dish. Kudos to Posana for having a tofu dish. But to be vegetarian-friendly, there needs to be more than just one veggie dinner entree! My wife loves scallops and therefore ordered the scallops . . . which on the menu come wrapped in bacon. That's actually offensive to stick red meat into a seafood entree. Of course, she was able to order without bacon and our server was quite accomodating, and to make up for that agreed to one additional side vegetable. However, it wasn't brought out to the table with the rest of our food. Later when the server swung by and we pointed that out to him, he brought it pronto. A good guy. The sparkling wine (a Spanish Cava) was excellent a good value off their better-than-average wine list. The ambiance and decor are fine. I'm wondering about the review dated Nov. 2, 2013 that claims Posana to have vegan dishes (plural), as there was only the one veggis dish on the menu (and only the regular menu was served on a Saturday night, no specials, which was kind of surprising and a little disappointing. Not likely to return on future Asheville visits.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posana also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Posana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing