We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free eating without sacrifice”
Review of Posana

Posana
Ranked #27 of 786 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton
Description: With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant's warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can't wait to serve you.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gluten free eating without sacrifice”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Gluten free eating without sacrifice. The chef of Posana Cafe has Celiac in his family and all items on the menu are gluten free but you wouldn't know it.

Posana Cafe doesn't advertise or promote the gluten free menu- they just quietly deliver great food for everyone. We ate here 3 times over two trios to Asheville. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parker V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    196
    66
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
458 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Delightful and fresh, original”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Wow, was this good food. The kale salad was so good that you just got new flavors with every bite. The chicken had something crunchy on it that was neither heavy nor fried - amazing. The mushrooms were cooked to perfection. The foccacia was outstanding, and don't even get me started on the dessert.

Add to that an eclectic and artistic setting and you're in the right place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruhu61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always really good”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very good food. Interestingly prepared. A bit pricey but worth it. Really like the Caesar Salad and most any fish dish they make.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elegant, Refined Cuisine”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We recently moved here to Asheville and, since we are foodies, have been having great fun exploring the restaurants that this city has to offer. We have tried about 30 different restaurants and, to date, this is the best restaurant we have found so far in Asheville. Elegant interior, excellent service, and an eclectic menu make this a fine place to dine. My partner and I ordered the soup of the day, roasted tomato with vegetables, for our first course, followed by quail with roasted pears and parsnip cream for our main course. Ending with apple crisp made this an excellent early autumn meal. We were very impressed. We have many other places to try, but this just might become our Asheville favorite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Desserts!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

After walking around Asheville for a while after dinner (other restaurant reviewed on their page), we decided that dessert was definitely in order. We saw Posana Café, and were charmed by the European look and feel. We stepped inside and decided to have our dessert at their pretty bar. In some places we’ve been in the past, bar staff haven’t been too happy to have patrons who don’t order cocktails. This was absolutely not the case at Posana Café. Our bartender was really terrific. She was uber-welcoming and put in our orders without batting an eye. What desserts those were!! On of the guys opted for the crème brulee, the other went for the peach “pie,” and both of us girls chose the Chocolate Pot de Crème.

Oh, my! Those chocolate desserts were amazing! I decided I really needed a bourbon with my chocolate. (After all, what goes better with chocolate? Can’t think of a thing.)

Would we go back? You'd better believe that we will - on every ensuing trip to Asheville!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posana also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Posana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing