We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Posana

Posana
Ranked #23 of 793 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton
Description: With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant's warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can't wait to serve you.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It was fun to watch the people passing by as we ate at our table in the window. The food was good and service was too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanStreetJCTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    200
    68
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Restaurant Which Just Happens To Be Gluten Free”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hubby and I enjoyed an incredible dinner in this beautiful restaurant. I could order anything on the menu, no questions, no substitutions necessary, and no answers of "No, that has gluten in it." I was so happy I could have cried! Our server, Teresa, was friendly and knowledgeable, informing us of specials, and helping non-GF Hubby find a beer he wanted by bringing him tasters. We started with chicken lettuce wraps which were oh so good! Our meals were was gorgeously presented. I had tempura lobster tail with a fried green tomato over garlic chive mashed potatoes. It's been so long since I have had really good battered and fried food, I felt like I had gone to heaven. The fried green tomato had the most marvelous smoky flavor. Hubby's scallops were perfectly cooked, neither overdone nor underdone. For dessert, the cheesecake with butternut squash panna cotta was out of this world! We even bought some biscuits to take back to the hotel for breakfast the next morning, and a few seconds in the microwave made them warm deliciousness. The next night we got an order to go since the restaurant was completely packed. Hubby loved the cheeseburger, and the gnocchi I got was amazing! Chef Peter has hit a real homerun with his awesome restaurant which just happens to be gluten free. My only complaint about Posana is that it is not in my hometown. But it will definitely be a repeat destination for us anytime we are anywhere near Asheville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Heaven for those with Celiac or gluten intolerance”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have Celiac disease, so when I first heard this place was 100% gluten free I felt like a kid in a candy store. Gluten free gnocci and tiramisu? Yes, please! My husband and I have a lovely dinner here, with great service, and it was such a huge relief to simply order anything I wanted off the menu. Way to go, Posana!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SwimKat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to Ashville to go to another restaurant but it was closed so we tried this. Food was Excellent. We didnt know until after we ate that everything is gluten free. It was a great lunch, with good prices and excellent service. A MUST do over.

Helpful?
1 Thank lthrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

By far this restaurant is a treasure for anyone with gluten sensitivity. They do not advertise this and its because they don't need to narrow their clientele- the gluten free food is that good!
I love going solo and sitting at the bar. I have also taken non gluten free friends and they comment on how great the food is. Service is always superb, they have vegan options and everything I have eaten has been great. I love their homemade bagels- available at brunch and the tempura is fantastic!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank a_BlueRidge_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posana also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Posana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing