We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambiance and Food”
Review of Posana

Posana
Ranked #27 of 781 Restaurants in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Asheville
Cross street: Patton
Description: With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant's warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can't wait to serve you.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance and Food”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Had breakfast at Posana on a Sunday morning. The service and food were outstanding. It is a very unique menu with a little something for everyone.

The service was extremely attentive during a very busy service time and I would highly recommend this restaurant. The dishes were plated very nicely and a great blend of flavors in each dish.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nixhex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    194
    66
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, FL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal - best dessert in Asheville!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband & I had dinner at Posana Cafe on a Monday evening. We were so impressed - with the flavors, the ambiance and most of all, the dessert. I had the Crispy Quail and my husband had the Scallop Lasagne. We both loved our entrees. For dessert, we ordered the homemade coffee bean ice cream and creme brulee. With no reservation, this was the most outstanding dessert we had on our trip.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piacere_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Decided to visit Posana's cafe based on reviews here and elsewhere. It was as good as reported. The crispy quail was our appitizer. My wife balked at first but enjoyed it. We both choose the scallops and lasagna. It was delicious. We both had the ice tea, wich is brought to you freshly brewing with a container of ice to pour over. She had the homemade ice cream for dessert, and was "incerdible". Sitting at the window watching the Moog fest participants go by was great entertainment. Would repeat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Posana is so green...did I say elixirs?”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Posana is a simple and elegant "green" restaurant with a charming modern decor and large windows. The waitstaff is extremely knowledgeable about the menu and the elixirs - Chinese remedies - somewhat of a twist. There were so many enticing choices that we had a cheese plate and desert along with our entrees. Fresh, fun and fabulously displayed food had us coming back a second time for dinner... we first began with their Sunday brunch. Choices for vegans, vegetarians and all others had my mouth watering for more. i look forward to another visit!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great food and service ... and interesting dishes”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The food and service was top notch. Although the menu is not extensive, there is a good selection from which to choose - dishes ranges from something Southern to something modern. The service was outstanding: helpful, honest and intelligent.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posana also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Posana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing