We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you Love Chocolate you will love French Broad”

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #4 of 46 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you Love Chocolate you will love French Broad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The lavender and honey hot chocolate is a must try especially on a cold and rainy night. It was so good we bought a box of truffles of the same variety. We also had the chocolate coconut macaroon. We waited outside on a rainy Saturday night for the "Chocolate Bouncer" to let us in as the place was at capacity. We hear they will be moving to a new locations up on the main drag - hopefully it will not lose its charm and quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,202
    419
    125
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
191 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A must do for any visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We happened upon the French Broad Chocolate Lounge while we were meandering through the streets of Asheville and I'm so happy that we did. The timing of our impromptu visit was perfect - we didn't have a long wait and were quickly at the counter reviewing the incredible selection of temptations. We selected several candies and cookies to take with us so that we could enjoy them later in the hotel - oh my - each bite was more amazing than the last. When I am back in Asheville I will definitely be stopping in again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floydova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I want to live here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I want to live in this chocolate shop and never leave. But beware! Everything looks super delicious, but everything is super rich! A cup of cold sipping chocolate and a cup of mousse was too much for me to finish. Definitely took some truffles home, and none were disappointing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ALeaseBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How can you say no to chocolate?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were first introduced to the French Broad Chocolate Lounge by friends and now no evening excursion to Asheville is complete without stopping by for a decadent dessert, nice wine and good music. My husband has a tough time choosing and will typically add a few cookies to his "eat there" dessert for the ride home. The atmosphere is cozy and we've shared a table with strangers more than once and have always enjoyed the camaraderie of oooh-ing and aaah-ing over a delightful dessert and evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really delicious ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We have toured a few Cocoa bean farms and love real chocolate this is by far the best tasting chocolate experience in the states
Pots de cream are really to die for.
They also let you sample all the bars in stock

Helpful?
Thank Wildfireash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing