We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place for chocolate and dessert in Asheville.”

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #4 of 47 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“THE place for chocolate and dessert in Asheville.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited the factory/tasting room first. It is beside Green Man Brewery and around the corner from Burial Brewing. The tasting room is worth a stop as the smell of chocolate in the air is the first thing you experience. Taste EVERYTHING, and learn as much as you can about the process.

When you finish there and find yourself downtown make sure you visit the Lounge. EVERY possible chocolate delight plus desserts you will think about later. Don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,241
    426
    128
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Evening at The Chocolate Lounge”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a wonderful experience going to the Chocolate Lounge. Everything was DELICIOUS! There was even a band playing music which was fun. I wish I lived closer so I could go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

They have the best chocolate creme brulee. The chocolates and truffles are also good but I come here just for the brulee .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KHATL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax va
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dessert”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful treat to enjoy after dinner or on its own
Chocolate from heaven drinks candy cakes oh my the line out the door says it all. We had a 20 min wait but soon their new place with3x the capacity will open
Not to be missed in Asheville

Helpful?
Thank jefffairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A chocoholic's heaven!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Absolutely don't miss this place, and don't pass up the drinking chocolates. Try to go during the week or you will wait in line - there was a line out the door for several hours mid-day on Saturday. Luckily we happened upon this place on a Friday and didn't wait more than two minutes. In addition to the ganache-based drinking chocolates, we bought several chocolate bars and some absolutely to-die-for truffles. Love the fact that the couple who started this place has a "hands-on" style of business, from owning the cacao bean plantation in Costa Rica, to the factory where they make and then wrap the chocolates. Small-batch, high quality and absolutely yummy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing