We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must be a local thing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #4 of 46 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Windermere,Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“must be a local thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

No parking,long lines to get to register. Couldn't see the chocolate selections until you got to the registers. Expensive, small chocolates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    409
    123
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolates... a must-stop place in Asheville!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped here on a multi-family road trip on our way back from Orlando, FL (returning to the Twin Cities). The owner is a childhood friend and neighbor of one of the adults in our group, so we stopped in Asheville specifically so that we could make this stop. It was well worth it.

The chocolates are all divine, as are the various chocolate drinks and desserts that you can enjoy while in the lounge.

We stopped by the factory as well, but were unable to take the tour... that would have been fun.

Looking forward to enjoying all of our chocolate in the days (or maybe the hours) to come. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amjar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A must for chocoholics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are a true chocolate lover (meaning somebody who appreciates truly great chocolate, vs drugstore brand boxed stuff) and you're in Asheville, you should make it a priority to come here. The liquid truffle is divine, the cake we had was fantastic. But we most enjoyed the truffles with inventive fillings. Build your own box so you get the flavors you'll most like - the Thai, fresh raspberry and masala chai were out of this world!

Helpful?
1 Thank thedollymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is an absolute to do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are a Chocoholic and love desserts, this is a must. But be prepared to wait in line. We were there about 45 minutes (eating) around 8pm and the line only got longer as we enjoyed our desserts and chocolates.

By the time we left, the line was out the door and going up the street. But no one seemed to be leaving because they knew how good it was.

It's nice to go in a group and do some sampling from each others selection.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nbkgman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dessert spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Very creative spot for the chocolate lover. Mousse was terrific as was the flour-free chocolate cake. Worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J4Justice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing