We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
10 S. Pack Square, Asheville, NC 28801
+1 828-252-4181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Peters, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were in Asheville for a total of five nights and ended up here three of those. There are so many tasty things to choose from. Truffles, cakes, ice cream, pretty much anything you could want. Everything had a unique spin on it, too - for instance, hot chocolate came in many different varieties, such as honey lavender and kulfi. Yum! I wouldn't recommend passing it up if you're in town. I've heard it can get pretty busy, but it was relatively calm when we went (late afternoon/early evening on week days).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    987
    349
    103
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Wonderful chocolates! We went as part of Eating Asheville tour, and then stayed to have a liquid truffle and to buy some chocolates to take home. Yum!

Helpful?
Thank LauraSmith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Wait: Totally Worth It.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went here while visiting Asheville over New Year's. The line was out the door, and we almost decided to go somewhere else. Everyone in line told us it was worth the wait, and they were absolutely right.

My friend found us a table upstairs while I waited in line to order. Don't be fooled by the cramped quarters downstairs. The upstairs offers plenty of seating, and it's a great atmosphere for sipping your chocolate and snacking on a treat, while having a conversation.

After ordering, if you're dining in, you're given a number to take to your table, and your drinks are delivered to you fairly quickly.

I got the Lavender & Honey hot chocolate and it was just incredible. Fragrant and sweet, without being overly sweet. It was so great, it would be hard for me to branch out and try something new next time.

We also ordered the macarons of the day, which were delightful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theroadismyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Liquid Truffle is perfect meal topper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I can only review the "liquid truffle" as that is all I consumed on two visits. After our restaurant meal, we strolled over to the French Broad Chocolate Lounge to indulge in an unbelievably fabulous teacup of molten chocolate in various flavors such as pure dark, lavender & honey, maple and sea salt, milk chocolate, Buddha w/cocoanut milk, and a rose, cardamom, pistachio combination. A sip will saturate your senses with silken luxury. (I just made that up!) It was so good, we went back the following evening. The line may be long but is worth the wait. Upstairs seating accommodated our large group in a loft-like atmosphere. This is the perfect way to top off an evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food in such a small place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

It feels like a rush. The line to get to the delights is lively and loud. The only complaint is that it is so crowded and energetic that you can not focus on the chocolate. The cake is moist, delicious, and decadent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgdmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing