We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decadent and Delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Broad Chocolate Lounge

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #3 of 46 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decadent and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was standing in line inside the building on a cold Christmas Eve complaining about the wait while taking in the enticing smells wafting through the Lounge. The person in front of me informed me that the line usually snaked out the door and up the street. The wait was well worth it. The chocolate turtles were out of this world, as was the chocolate mousse, but the real winner was the chocolate truffle...actually more like a chocolate shot. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone visiting Asheville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    409
    123
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We enjoyed a late afternoon treat of coffee, tea and cake. Hubby got the chocolate/bourban cake, but we both enjoyed the carrot cake more. Good service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Dessert in Asheville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is hands down THE best dessert spot in Asheville. Makes a fabulous after dinner spot for coffee/tea/wine/beer and chocolate! Be prepared to wait in line for 20 minutes on weekend nights, but it is well worth your wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holmes3strandcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited downtown Asheville again and simply had to go here for another of the drinking chocolates. Absolutely heavenly! Just can't find it this good anywhere else. Last time I had the dark chocolate mousse drinking chocolate, this time I tried the lavender honey flavor. There were even lavender buds in my drink! Yummy!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here 3 times with family who were attending a wedding. I am NOT a chocolate lover, but I loved this place and so enjoyed watching family eat delicious chocolate concoctions. The lines can be long, but all three times we snagged a table either upstairs or down. It has a nice fun vibe to it and the food (from what the fam told me is delicious)
There are so many choices you are sure to find something you will like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing