We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chocolate!”

French Broad Chocolate Lounge
Ranked #4 of 45 Dessert in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Wonderful Chocolate!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Visited downtown Asheville again and simply had to go here for another of the drinking chocolates. Absolutely heavenly! Just can't find it this good anywhere else. Last time I had the dark chocolate mousse drinking chocolate, this time I tried the lavender honey flavor. There were even lavender buds in my drink! Yummy!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellover3868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,279
    442
    129
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Chocolate lovers paradise”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came here 3 times with family who were attending a wedding. I am NOT a chocolate lover, but I loved this place and so enjoyed watching family eat delicious chocolate concoctions. The lines can be long, but all three times we snagged a table either upstairs or down. It has a nice fun vibe to it and the food (from what the fam told me is delicious)
There are so many choices you are sure to find something you will like.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Worth the Wait”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped in after dinner at Bouchon, there was a line out the door but it was completely worth the wait. Not surprisingly the place specializes in things made out of chocolate, liquid, baked, custard etc.; they also have local brews, coffee and wine available. We split a pot de creme and a chocolate mouse with a cup of coffee, both were fantastic but I'm not sure you could go wrong with anything on the menu. The atmosphere was excellent complete with an acoustic gypsy swing band playing by the front door; it would work equally well for both a romantic after dinner stop or family outing, and though it doesn't look like it when you first enter there is ample seating upstairs. I typically hate the phrase "must do" but in this case it's appropriate, the Chocolate Lounge is an actual "must do" if you find yourself in Asheville.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Crowded but Delicious”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stopped here the other night after dinner. The line was fairly long and the tables were crowded, but we were able to snag a table by grabbing one as soon as someone got up. I had the dark chocolate mousse with hazelnut cream -- DELICIOUS. My husband tried the Oaxaca sipping chocolate -- also quite tasty. I would go here again, but maybe try for a less crowded time of day!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saroy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dark Chocolate Brownie + Red Wine = Heaven”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wow! This is so much more than a "candy store," as someone had inaccurately described this restaurant. It is a lounge where attention is focused upon chocolate desserts, candies, drinks. Staff were knowledgeable and patient. The line was long but moved quickly. We savored a dark chocolate brownie with glasses of red wine. Very relaxing and delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Broad Chocolate Lounge also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to French Broad Chocolate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing