We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, great deal, great comfort, great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
Ranked #9 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We chose The Country Inn & Suites Asheville West for a long weekend to be close to Biltmore and area attractions. It was easy & quick to get to everything we wanted to see & do in and around the heart of Asheville, including dinners out. The staff really cared about making us feel welcome and comfortable - they responded immediately to a few small requests we had (a softer pillow, coffee refill in the breakfast room, keeping leftovers refrigerated), always with a smile. The showers were wonderful - great water temperature & pressure with adjustable heads (my son took extra long, much longer than usual). Although we didn't use the heated outdoor pool, we noticed others enjoying it every day. Overall, it was the perfect home base for our excursions.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top (4th) floor & had a quiet view of the mountains (beyond the parking lot).
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank venividi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashevillewest, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you so much for your review and we can't wait to see you again! You have to come back and relax by the pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,979)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 1,979 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

The hotel is well-maintained and kept very clean. Beds are very comfortable. The air conditioning is aggressive when it comes on, refrigerating the room until it cycles off. The breakfast, with hot choices like scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, and oatmeal is abundant though not gourmet. Elevator is on the slow side. Staff are really friendly and helpful...I would recommend that they become more knowledgeable about regional attractions. Most of the desk personnel I met had not actually been to many of the great locations within 90 minutes of Asheville. I know it's asking a lot to have concierge-like insights at a hotel like this, but I also know this hotel aspires to be really great--and this is the kind of thing that would set it apart. Free Internet access, a nice pool, a good computer and working printer in the lobby, all-day coffee and fresh fruit, fresh cookies, infinite brochures, and an accessible location complete the picture. We paid a 4-night special rate, so this excellent experience cost very little more than the more spartan places we usually stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashevillewest, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Country Inn and Suites- Asheville West! We think it is a great idea to partner with local companies and organizations to further our knowledge of the area and of its many great attractions. I am sure our front desk staff will also enjoy doing so! Please come back and see us again, and we will point you in the right direction!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Rooms are clean and well-appointed. Breakfast fare was always being replenished. Coffee, apples and chocolate chip cookies available all hours. Good workout room and pool.

Stayed here ten days while touring and visiting with friends. Personnel could not have been nicer, especially desk service lady named A.J. Maid was most competent and efficient.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor and you have stairs direct to lobby. Our room was across from laundry facility.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esterotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Price point and location attracted us to this overnight stop on our way to tour the Biltmore Estate. BP gas station and Applebees restaurant just down the hill provided a good spot to gas up and grab dinner with two teenagers.

Hotel had a cramped pool and hot tub off the front parking lot, facing the road--so our kids definitely weren't interested in taking the plunge.

Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and free breakfast was adequate to start the day. Single slow elevator provided comic relief, and rooms overlooking the creepy rusted out shed behind the hotel made for some lighthearted fun discussing old B rated horror flicks with chainsaw weilding characters lurking in the shadows...

All in all, not a bad place for the road weary, but I definitely wouldn't stay for more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We picked this inn since it was outside of the town. There was a problem at check-in with the computer but the manager gave us our room and let us do the paperwork later. The room was very nice and clean. The only thing that I didnt like was that the pool was very small and had only 2 lounge chairs. Also if you are looking for a place with a good mountain view, this didn't have it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnlover1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed five nights, celebrating our wedding anniversary and experiencing as much as possible in the Asheville area as we could fit in. The Country Inn was the cleanest, friendliest motel we've ever stayed in. The breakfast buffet changed every morning and was excellent the whole week. The staff, especially general manager Anthoney and front desk reservationist Lashonda, were exceptionally helpful and cordial. The housekeeping crew kept the room spotless, even cleaning up the mud we brought in on our clothes after rafting on the French Broad river. We're definitely staying here the next time we're in the Asheville area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor, in the middle of the motel facing the road. You'll have a gr...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

On the basis of good TripAdvisor reviews and what seemed reasonable prices we chose this hotel for a weekend stay in AVL. We were sorely disappointed. Our two nights were a catalogue of hotel-keeping errors: we arrived late at night and were given keys to a room that didn't work. It took two visits up and down the elevator and another 20 minutes before we had a new room. The next morning we were woken up by a staff member who barged in at 8 AM without knocking. Then when we returned later in the day we found our room was not made up by housekeeping. We called downstairs but after 10 minutes on hold they had no explanation and no offer to clean it. The only reason this is not one star is that the front desk person apologized when we checked out and refunded one night of our stay. A nice facility managed by complete amateurs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mzrascoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashevillewest, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate), responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

I want to personally apologize for the events that transpired during your stay with us. As you can tell from our TripAdvisor reviews, this type of incident is unacceptable and is not the standard that we set for, or expect from, our hotel and our staff. While working with new employees is never an acceptable excuse for a situation such as this, it certainly did create a snowball effect that we did not properly anticipate. It is our hope that you do not let this experience be the judge of our hotel, our hospitality, or of our beautiful city, and that you will allow us another opportunity to show you what we really pride ourselves on… a wonderful hotel, exceptional service, and beautiful city to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville Downtown Tunnel Road (Biltmore Estate)
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville at Asheville Outlet Mall, NC
5.1 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 66 in Asheville
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Asheville Westgate, NC
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Asheville - Tunnel Road
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn West
Sleep Inn West
#17 of 66 in Asheville
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate)

Address: 1914 Old Haywood Road, Asheville, NC 28806-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Asheville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#6 Family Hotel in Asheville
#7 Business Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $97 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the newest hotels near Asheville, the Country Inn & Suites West Asheville Hotel Biltmore Estate. Our Biltmore-inspired hotel features French decor, a tranquil waterfall feature and a French gazebo overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. Our hotel is conveniently located near Interstates 26 and 40, just minutes from the beautiful Biltmore Estate, one of Asheville's most popular tourist attractions, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore Mall and Asheville Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Asheville West (Biltmore Estate) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Asheville West Hotel Asheville
Country Inn And Suites Asheville West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing