We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Underserved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a pricey hotel that was disappointing, at best. it is farther away from downtown Asheville than the staff indicated when we made the reservations. It is in a new, planned community that was established just before the economy tanked four years ago and still has many vacant storefronts and empty condos/apartments. The parking is problematic and the whole place had a surreal, artificial feel to it.
Once we checked into the hotel we discovered a room that was crowded, had only one chair and no luggage rack or place to put our luggage. When we pointed this out to the receptionist, she said she would call housekeeping immediately saying that many of the desk chairs had broken, but they would find us one. When we left 48 hours later, we still had no chair or luggage rack. Further, we were kept awake from midnight til 2:00 A.M. One night by noisy neighbors. There was NO soundproofing between our rooms. If you are a Hilton Honors member, stay at the Doubletree Hotel closer to downtown and the Bilt,ore Estate. It is less expensive and much nicer..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GibsonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear GibsonLady,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your time with us. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We do tout our location as one of our unique highlights – as Biltmore Park was the first mixed used community in Asheville and offers our guests a variety of restaurants, shops and entertainment, all within walking distance of the hotel. The retail space is around 80% occupied and the apartments are 100% occupied. While street parking is limited, there is a free parking garage behind the hotel, with a direct entrance, and we also offer valet parking. We do apologize for the desk chair and luggage rack issue. Please know that we have addressed our staff directly, and we don’t foresee this being an issue moving forward. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am a male senior citizen. I stayed as a solo traveler four weeks (June 30 to July 28, 2012) in a single king room on the top (6th) floor. (The top floor is not a club level having an exclusive lounge.)

The hotel was built 3 or 4 years ago and has four-diamond rated facilities. The basement has a large indoor swimming pool and a large exercise room with many treadmills and many TVs. The lobby floor has a huge room with the front desk, a restaurant, and a bar. They are separated by partitions going partially up to the ceiling and lack any doors. The hotel lobby has a computer connected to the internet and available to hotel guests. I used the internet computer once or twice a day and sent documents to be printed in a room behing the front desk. Two elevators swiftly carried guests up and down. One waited very little for an elevator to arrive.

The hotel is located in a wonderful new development in Asheville called "Biltmore Park" (not to be confused with "Biltmore Village"). Biltmore Park is fairly level and is about four or five blocks square. Free self-parking in a multi-story garage just behind the hotel was available to hotel guests and any other visitor to Bilmore Park. Many restaurants only few-blocks walk from the hotel served lunch and dinner, but only one served breakfast (only Mexican food).

The hotel restaurant was extremely busy at breakfast. The breakfast buffet was popular for folks of all ages from young children to seniors. On some mornings even the hotel general manager and hotel assistant general manager assisted for an hour or so in the restaurant. The only restaurant serving breakfast outside the hotel but still in Biltmore Park offered Mexican food. The hotel restaurant served American food. I ate every breakfast in the hotel restuarant and needed no lunch.

Few people ate dinner at the hotel. First, many restuarants only a very short walk from the hotel served dinner. P.F. Chang had a restaurant only four blocks from the hotel. I often enjoyed dinner at 123 Main Restaurant a block from the hotel. Second, the hotel restaurant overcharged at dinner. For instance, it served a six-ounce steak fillet platter for Twenty-six Dollars. I e-mailed the hotel general manager copying the hotel assistant general manager that a restaurant a few blocks from the hotel served a seven-ounce steak fillet platter for Eighteen Dollars. The response from my e-mail was not any e-mail reply but an increase the next day of the price of the six-ounce steak to Twenty-seven Dollars. Thus, I seldom ate dinner in the hotel.

My single king room on the top floor was superb. I had a gorgeous view from a huge window. The king bed gave me a wonderful sleep. The room had a huge flat pannel TV. The room had plenty of space, a couple of chairs, a desk top, and plenty of drawers to store one person's clothes. The closet space was ample. The bathroom had a large shower stall but no tub. (Women may not like the lack of a bathtub.) The room was soundproof: I never heard a peep from the hallway or nearby guestrooms.

I noted two problems. On August 23, 2012, I e-mailed the hotel general manager (a man) and copied the hotel assistant general manger (a woman) to thank them for the good things about my four-week stay and to note the two problems. Neither top hotel manager replied. On September 28, 2012, I e-mailed the corporate office of Hilton Hotels to note the two problems of the Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park and the lack of a response from either top hotel manager. Now it is October 27, 2012, and the corporate office of Hilton Hotel has not replied to my e-mail.

The first problem was that the woman front office manager when on duty at the hotel front desk wore attire that displayed her cleavage. (The woman assistant general manager always wore attire on duty that was modest.)

The second problem was that maintenance was quick but failing. A man would quickly arrive, work on the problem, but not fix it.

The first maintenance problem was the thermostat in my guestroom. Finally after several days of visits, the thermostat was replaced and correctly calibrated. Maintenance gave me a minature chocolate candy in the shape of a hammer to apologize for the long time to fix the thermostat.

The second maintenance problem was a slowly draining sink in my guestroom bathroom. Maintenance came three times to attempt to clear the sink drain. In the first visit, hot water was run into the sink. In the second visit, a maintenance man put a chemical in powder form into the drain. In the third visit, a maintenance man put a chemical in liquid form into the drain, told me to leave the chemical there for twenty minutes and then rinse it out with plenty of water, and told me he would use a plunger if a fourth visit were to be necessary. Not even the third visit succeeded in permanently clearing the sink drain. I never called maintenance for a fourth visit, and I never received another chocolate hammer. In other hotels when I have had a slowly draining guestroom bathroom sink, maintenance has come with a mechanical snake and cleared the sink drain for good on the first visit. Did the Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park own a mechanical snake for clearing drains?

Because of the two problems and the failure of response to me by either top hotel management or by Hilton Hotels corporate office, I have downgraded my overall rating of the hotel to poor.

Room Tip: I recommend a room in the middle of the top (6th) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retired_Preacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Retired_Preacher,
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your experience. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We have worked with our maintenance team to correct all issues that you found in your room and we have discussed the other items with our staff members and restaurant manager. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed 4 nights. I would stay again and recommend the hotel to others. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable. We paid extra for a corner king with a balcony. The up charge was worth it. We faced Main Street which was quiet. Sadly the bathrooms had no separate showers. The tub shower is not the best and we had to wait a while for hot water. The rooms facing the interstate had a river and mountain view, but lots of interstate noise. Here were the two issues we had. 1. The down comforter is not encased in a duvet cover. Instead it is on a flat sheet and covered by another flat sheet. After a toss or turn in bed your face comes in direct contact with the comforter, which we were told is not changed between guests. Not a good thing. 2. There were smashed bug remains on the inside of the Window that never got cleaned and we stepped over the same toothpick in the hallway for all four days. It was nice to have a fridge in the room and free in room gourmet coffee. A little more attention to cleaning detail and correcting the duvet issue would make this a great hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JMG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Had to be in Asheville for business & chose this due to it's location & facilities presented online. I was very impressed with it in person. I heard from another employee that it was about 3 years old. It's very modern & offers a bar area, restaurant, and spa. Great shopping & dining in walking proximatety. Would definitely recommend to others & stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbwheeler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Friendly employees. Nice location. Decent restaurant. Our room (#402), a two room suite, had a view of the back of the hotel and the parking structure. It was also overpriced and need of some TLC - table leg was broken, no bedside table on the far side of the bed, loose drain in the shower. Nice running trail less than .25 mile from the hotel.

I'd stay here again simply for the location but this place is nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BFH_Marketing, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear gopoets,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Asheville. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and have shared your feedback with our team to address those issues. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again so we can provide a more memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Lauren McDevitt
Marketing and Guest Relations
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This review will revolve around staying with a dog. This hotel was a base for us with our 2 dogs visiting a sick relative. We discovered the hotel was only 4 miles to an entrance on The Blue Ridge Parkway near Bent Creek and the Arboretum, so this is a great base to stay and hike with your dogs. It is located in a complex that has numerous restaurants, coffee shops, stores, movie theatre. Across from the Hilton is Travinia Italian Kitchen which was very good for dinner, we had take out and brought it back to our room, however there was a cute outdoor dining area that was dog friendly.
The Hilton was pricey to stay, but we found the room contemporary, with plenty of floor space for two large dog beds. There is an HD LG tv, and free Wifi. The bedding was very comfy. If you love feather pillows, you'll love all 5 of them here, but if you prefer foam, like we do, bring your own, lol. The bathroom was great, rain head shower head, huge shower, blowdryer, nice toiletries, no makeup mirror...If you stay with a dog, they will put you on the 2nd floor, the lowest level to the street - there are no street level down and out rooms, unfortunately. It wasn't too much of an issue, except that our dogs have never been in an elevator before, so don't know if that would be an issue for anyone. Elevator was fast to the 2nd floor. Obviously for fire code reasons there must be stairs somewhere, but I didn't see them, and the elevator was right there. There is a parking garage right behind the Hilton, that is free. Directly behind the parking garage is a large open field to let your dog do its business, so that was convienent. So you'll have to weight the issues of the elevator, and staying on a 2nd floor vs. street level..wasn't an issue for us, but our dogs sleep thru night without having to have a pee walk..also the 2nd floor rooms have no balconies, just very large window, dogs can see out of..there is also a small fridge with 2 complimentary waters in it.
We enjoyed the walking distance of the restaurants, and how nice and accomodating the staff was, especially the front desk people and the young bellman..everyone loved our dogs, and offered to "watch" them while we ate at their restaurant, which we appreciated but we got take out..
I was able to go to their restaurant in the morning and "take out" the buffet breakfast to the room, that was nice also.
They do charge a one time $50.00 dog fee, whether you stay one or five nights, but part of the fee goes to a spay/neuter program locally, so we appreciated that. Also the parking garage is free, but we found spaces right in back of hotel.
So in closing we give this hotel a definite paws up for being dog friendly.

Room Tip: We had a "non" connecting room, which we were told was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We loved our trip to Asheville. This hotel was nice, bed comfortable , clean room. We had nothing to complain about with the room. The customer service was not great! When we arrived and checked in, the front desk agent did not explain how to get to the room or where to park, we had to ask. He was interest in getting back to his conversation with another employee. Parking is very hard to find, especially on a Saturday Night. The overall hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
The Residences at Biltmore
#26 of 66 in Asheville
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park

Address: 43 Town Square Blvd, Asheville, NC 28803-5060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Asheville
#3 Spa Hotel in Asheville
#3 Business Hotel in Asheville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Asheville
#5 Family Hotel in Asheville
Price Range: $168 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park offers convenience, luxury and affordability. It is also one of the most environmentally sustainable hotels in the country. With a large scale solar hot water heating system, all CFL light bulbs and a fuel-alternative airport shuttle, this is one full service hotel that you can feel good about. Enjoy a meal at our signature restaurant Roux or relax in the on-site Sensibilities Spa. We’re located in Asheville’s newest shopping, dining and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park Hotel Asheville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing