We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Great but not really Great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good to Great but not really Great.”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo last weekend for a celebration of our 1st Anniversary. Our stay was good but not great. Most of our issue with the hotel were with other guest but all in all was a reflection on the hotel. I think we would stay here again, as I would hope our issues were one time things. We tend to lean toward trendy, modern boutique hotels and the Indigo did not disappoint in that arena. This was our first stay at Hotel Indigo and the only other IHG hotel we have ever stayed at was the Intercontinental in Miami. Typically we are Starwood people and stay at W, Aloft and Westins. This was comparable to an A loft and slightly less high end than a W.

The location of the hotel was great. The hotel is located right off the highway, perfect walking distance to downtown and easy access to other areas of town by car. Free parking and convenient elevator access are all pluses.

Mary Ann checked us in and she was very friendly, professional and efficient. The room was awesome. The décor was fun and trendy while still being really comfortable. The size of the room we got (313) was really nice and large, if you were gathering with family and friends plenty of room for a group of people to hang out in one room with several seating options. The bed was the perfect firmness for us both and all the pillows and linens were really nice. The walk in shower was large enough for 2 and the bench provided the perfect place to shave your legs. Everything was super clean and cared for. I loved the dark wood floors and would love to know the manufacture (we are currently re doing our house), the lack of carpet was great.

The sound proofing in the hotel is horrible. Every time a group of people walks down the hall talking you can hear it as well as doors opening and shutting as if they were in your room. You can even hear the elevator doors opening and closing. The first problem occurred on Friday evening. We returned from dinner around 11pm and shortly after on our floor a dog started barking. The dog barked/yapped for approx 45 mins before we reported it to the front desk. Tammy at the desk assured us she would send security to inspect and offered ear plugs if the dog did not stop. Knowing before we booked that this hotel allowed dogs would have been a deterrent for us or I would have made sure I got a room on a non animal approved floor. I appreciate the fact that Tammy offered a solution to the problem if the dog did not stop but I do not see why I should be penalized because someone else cannot control their animal. I do not find sleeping in ear plugs comfortable. Finally the dog stopped barking around 1:30am about two hours after the barking started. Even with the TV on in our room we were able hear each bark. The hall noise does not bother us as we are not light sleepers but the barking/yapping was really annoying. Certainly more care could be given to placing guest with pets and with out pet separately.

We spent all of Saturday out of the hotel exploring the area, arriving back around 5pm relax and change for dinner. Getting off the elevator on our floor that afternoon you could smell someone smoking pot. When we checked in Mary Ann clearly outlined the hotels no smoking policy and the fine associated with being found smoking in your room. The smell of pot makes me extremely nauseous and was a little un settling that I could smell it in the hall ways but thankfully at that time not in our room. Once back in the room to change for dinner we were surprised with a bottle of Cava and a hand written card from management in celebration of our Anniversary. It was a really un-expected but nice touch.

As we were relaxing we received a phone call from home about a death in the family. Instead of staying the second night like planned we decided to check out and head home to be with family for the funeral the next day. While I packed my husband went down to check out. As I was packing the smell of pot smoking over took our room. Thankfully we were not staying a second night as there is no way we could have stayed in our current room. When my husband was checking out the desk person offered to find a manager and credit our night back to us. Weather or not this happened we do not know, it has not shown up on our statement yet. It was certainly not expected as we were the ones who were leaving early but a really nice gesture.

All and all the location, appearance/comfort and staff were great. The other guests and the clientele the hotel attracts not so great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandjforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InspirationConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for your courteous review. We would like to extend our deepest sympathies to your family. It is unfortunate that your stay was marred by unruly guests and a tragedy in your family. We invite you to visit again and wish to improve upon your most recent experience. If there is anything I can do to assist in planning your next Asheville Experience, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    462
    161
    40
    29
See reviews for
209
846
50
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

After being woken up 2 times at 2AM by people banging on my door, who didn't know their room number and security doing nothing, then being woken again a half hour later by the same guests congregating in the hall and talking quite loud (again, nothing from security) I was offered a free breakfast (I don't eat breakfast). The woman at reception wouldn't get the manager and they would refund nothing on the room.
REALLY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!
DON'T BOTHER GOING THERE...IT ISN'T WORTH IT!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank unhappyinnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Thank you for chosing Hotel Indigo-Asheville Downtwon. I'm very sorry you were woken up at night by other guests. It is frustrating if guests are not sure where there room is and other guests are awoken late at night. We have a great security team that makes sure any noise disturbances are stopped as soon as possible.
Warm regards,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We go to Asheville about four times a year, and love it. After being greeted so nicely by the front desk, and shown rooms on a previous visit, we were eager to try the Hotel Indigo. Despite the pleasant modern design and sustainable building philosophy -- both of which we like very much -- the rooms themselves are noisy and uncomfortable, providing little privacy if you're traveling as a couple. We had a corner room, with a beautiful view of the mountains -- but even on a high floor, the road noise from the interestate below made you feel like you were in a Motel 6. There was also a surprising amount of noise audible from the hallways -- and our neighbors were quiet! The big walk-in shower was a plus, but the placement of the bathroom door opposite the bed -- and the fact that it's louvered -- quashes any bathroom privacy. We also experienced a shortage of hot water, as other posters have commented. And, as others have commented, the placement of the hotel on a windy bluff, near an interstate ramp, makes walking to and from downtown trickier than you'd expect. If road noise doesn't bother you, and you're OK navigating that ramp, you'll be fine, but the savings of only $20 or so per night has made us decide to return to the Renaissance next time. (Similar problems, but not as bad, at the Sheraton Four Points.)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizDexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 17, 2011
Thank you for your detailed comments about your opinion of our hotel. We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have discovered one of our hot water boilers was not functioning properly and were able to repair it immediately. Again thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes for your future stays in Asheville!
Sincerely,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Great location, beautiful building, great staff, and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InspirationConcierge, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, April 24, 2011
Thank you for your swell review! We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Asheville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East TN
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was our second stay at the Hotel Indigo. Our first was fantastic, as you know, it is often difficult to match a terrific experience. The room was still very nice. It has a glass, walk in shower like many of the high end hotels. The room was clean and the hotel is perfectly located to downtown for walking. We were so excited about the wonderful view of Ashville. Unfortunately, the road noise was worse. Nothing the hotel could have done, just a lot of street noise late at night and the matress was too firm for our liking.
We walked to all of our favorite spots; The Bier Garden for Beer and a Kobi Burger, Kampi of Tokio for excellent Sushi and Jack of the Woods for just hanging out. I would still stay there again, just might find another room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the bed comfort was to firm for you and the highway noise bothered you during your stay. We are working on solving the noise disturbance by adding a white noise option for our guests. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2011

My first stay here and it was excellent. The staff was extremely acommodating without being overbearing. Rooms and dining were perfect as is the location. I did notice some traffic noise, but it was not bothersome and I slept like a baby. I will stay here when I return and will try another Indigo when I can.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The goal of our entire team is to make sure you have a great experience while staying with us. We are looking forward to serving you again soon!
Sincerely,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Recently stayed the night here. Reminds me of a W hotel in its modern touches, but not quite there yet. The rooms are nice but the TV is small. great location and very convenient to downtown asheville. everyone was nice, but the beds were horrible. So hard and uncomfortable that we would have been better of sleeping on the floor. Needless to stay did not wake up rested the next day. Felt like I needed to see a chiropractor or massage therapist.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndigoInKeeperAVL, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us. I am very sorry to hear that the beds felt to firm for you. We will be happy to provide extra padding for you during your next stay.
Sincerely,
Barbara Kulwiec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#19 of 66 in Asheville
978 reviews
Haywood Park Hotel
#3 of 66 in Asheville
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Asheville
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Property: Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing