We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - a little noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the location. It's about a 3 minute walk to most of the downtown Asheville attractions like Pack Square, Grove Arcade, etc. You can park your car at the hotel for $15/day for valet service (super reasonable!) and they'll gladly retrieve your car as many times during the day as you need it.

Our only complaint was that the room was a little noisy. We were on the third floor on the side of the building that is right next to 240, so you could hear some traffic noise. Our room was also right next to the stairwell, so we had some added noise from that. We booked through Hotwire, so maybe that's why we didn't get a better room.

Overall, we'd definitely stay here again but would request a room on a higher floor and possibly an odd-numbered room to avoid the side of the building closest to the highway.

Room Tip: For the quietest rooms, request a room on a high floor and an odd-numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We value all of our guests equally, so your room placement had nothing to do with the method you used to reserve your room. We do pay close attention to our guest's requests, so we would be delighted to honor a request for a higher floor on your next visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to attend a downtown Saturday night wedding. Location is quite a hike to most downtown shopping and eating. Nice new decor and friendly staff. Rooms were clean. View of the mountains was nice but the interstate is a bit noisy. The heating unit was loud and blew all night even though it was set to auto 72 degrees resulting in very dry air. This made for a difficult sleeping environment especially if you happen to be in the side where the unit blows right over you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Windsurfdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We certainly hope to provide excellent experiences for each of our guests. We are truly sorry we did not have the opportunity to alleviate your frustrations while you were with us so that you might have enjoyed a more restful evening. Please let us know how we can improve your next visit.

Regards,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager
jbratcher@hlihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wife and I went up to Asheville for a few days to get away following our wedding, a "mini-moon" if you will. We booked this hotel via an "express deal" on a third-party site, and I feel like for the amount we paid it was an absolutely incredible value.

Design and decor of the hotel were upscale and modern, with artwork throughout and varied on each floor. The room and bathroom were both spacious, with a HUGE walk-in shower. Unlike prior reviews, we had no problem with the water pressure, so this must have been fixed.

Service was absolutely impeccable. We told Terrell at check-in that we had just gotten married the night before and asked if we could possibly be upgraded. I'm not a Priority Club member, so I don't think we actually got an upgrade... HOWEVER - he did put us on a high floor and we were surprised later in the evening with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of prosecco. They also gave us a *very* late checkout, which we appreciated.

Location is excellent if you're attending anything at the US Cellular Center (we weren't, but I'll keep it in mind in the future). We walked all over downtown, tasted at several breweries, enjoyed a couple local restaurants, etc. It was nice to not have to drive or take a cab.

Downside of the location is that the hotel is pretty noisy. Our room was not on the interstate side and the traffic was still loud enough to be bothersome. When the Mountain Oasis concerts let out around 2:00am, it sounded like the loud drunks were right outside our window, despite being on a high floor. Fortunately we were both exhausted and fell right asleep, but the traffic might be problem for light sleepers.

Food in the bistro was great, we both enjoyed the french toast.

Overall it was a great experience. If you can deal with the noise, it's a great value.

Room Tip: We were on a high flood on the Haywood Street side and the interstate noise was still bad. There'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Congratulations! We are honored to have been able to play a small part in such a special experience. We so appreciate that you took the time to write us such a thoughtful and thorough review. We pride ourselves on the outstanding service we provide. We are also really excited you enjoyed the cuisine prepared by our new chef at the oneFIFTYone Boutique Bar & Bistro!

May your married life be filled with fun, joy, and laughter!

Warmest Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my honeymoon over the weekend of Oct. 18-20. Hotel Indigo was a nice hotel with a very nice staff. After learning that it was our honeymoon they brought up some chocolate truffles and champagne, this was a very nice touch. Location was great being right downtown, hotel is located right off the interstate but our room was on the opposite side so it did not bother us. Our view was a great view of an AT&T parking lot, but that cannot be helped. The room was very small, and lacked many of the amenities that I am use to for hotels at a fraction of the price. Since this was on the back end of our honeymoon we had a few perishable items, the room did not have a refrigerator, so all of our food went bad. The only real luxury detail about our room was the walk-in shower which was very nice. My opinion is that if the room was 1/3 the price then it would have been good, but to my taste it is an extremely overpriced hotel thats simply living off its location to justify the price. I will not go back if it stays that expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a view you will need to be on the North side, which also faces the interstate. To be awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Congratulations on your marriage! We are honored to have been able to help you celebrate with a gift of champagne and French Broad Chocolate Lounge Truffles. We are constantly seeking to improve, so I would really appreciate it if you could let me know which amenities, specifically, we were lacking. On your next visit, you might prefer one of our luxurious penthouse suites, which feature stunning panoramic mountain views (and refrigerators.)

Warmest Wishes!

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staff are super nice and the place is modern and efficient with perfect access to town. Hotel Indigo is on the outline of Downtown within walking distance to everything without being right in the center.

Room Tip: Closest place to stay if you plan on taking a Hot Air Balloon ride !!!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TBOSS411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we hope you had a blast on that hot air balloon ride!

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very interesting boutique hotel in a superb location when visiting Asheville. Staff was very welcoming and rooms were lovely. The bar served excellent "night-night drinks".

And the view... wow! Will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoarboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for this splendid review! We are honored that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to serving you another of our delectable craft cocktails in the future.

Warmly,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel indigo is a great choice for downtown asheville. Close to restaurants and bars.....no need to get in car for dining options. The hotel is stylish and fun. The elevators are better than most hotels(fast and clean) and go to lower level secure parking garage. The staff is very friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. Good linens and toiletries plus comfortable bed. I liked the hard surface floors. Great bathroom but water pressure a little weak in shower. Only negative is highway noise on mountain view side.

Room Tip: If you want a mountain view, request it. If you don't want highway noise request city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archcity l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We are so pleased to have been awarded the opportunity to serve you during your Asheville vacation. We certainly look forward to your next visit.

Warm Wishes,

Jamie Bratcher
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asheville hotels
Downtown Asheville
Aloft Asheville Downtown
Aloft Asheville Downtown
#20 of 66 in Asheville
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residences at Biltmore
#25 of 66 in Asheville
1,230 reviews
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 66 in Asheville
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown

Address: 151 Haywood Street, Asheville, NC 28801-2632
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Asheville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Asheville
Price Range: $148 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reflects the city itself- vibrant, eclectic, soulful, and embracing! Come and experience this boutique hotel in the heart of downtown. Our convenient downtown Asheville location allows you to leave your car- and cares, behind, as you explore this unique area! Spacious rooms, full-service bar and bistro, and spa-inspired bathrooms complete with Aveda products, ensures your stay will leave you feeling pampered and renewed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo Asheville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing