We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best mtn bike riding in the east.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bent Creek Experimental Forest

Ranked #75 of 183 things to do in Asheville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the Pisgah National Forest, this 6,300-acre area is home to the North Carolina Arboretum.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best mtn bike riding in the east.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This area is so beautiful and diverse it is always great to visit. My main interest is the miles of mountain bike trails from relatively easy to fairly challenging and a lot of variety. There are stream crossings and great single track trails through stands of hardwoods, rhododendrons, and pines. My favorite place to ride.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    3
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for a daytrip with the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hiking and easy bike trails, free parking, close to town and right next to the Parkway. Nice place to bring the family- small beach hardly larger than a public swimming hole, lots of easy short hikes from the beach. BBQs all over, I love this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AVLSpaceBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
204 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice place for long walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband, dog and I had a couple nice hikes at Bent Creek. There are a LOT of mountain bikers, particularly on the weekend, so that does occasionally interfere with your hike, but otherwise it's very pretty with lots of options.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something for everybody”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

relaxing environment. Lots of trails. Something for everybody. From beginner to advanced, hiker, horseback rider, mtn. biker. pick a trail or network of trails and have a great day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GYDeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My Second Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I mountain bike here frequently as I live 30 minutes away. Large trail network with beginner to (a few sections/trails) expert level riding needed. Runners, riders, hikers, equestrians, all share this space. Bikers - YIELD to all other trail users and be nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bent Creek Experimental Forest also viewed

Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Bent Creek Experimental Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing